PDA

View Full Version : emperor angel reef safe???

Eschmidt
08/12/2007, 06:18 PM
Im looking for a large beautiful fish for my reef aquarium and since i am new at this hobby i dont knw if the emperor angel is reef safe. Any help will be appreciated or any other suggestions of fish

Thank you Eric

Roy G. Biv
08/12/2007, 06:41 PM
Adults are definately not reef safe, as with most angels. Juviniles may pick as seen below.
http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t251/pmolan/clamangel.jpg

This pic is from another thread, entitled "Grip of Death" or similar.

virginiadiver69
08/12/2007, 07:47 PM
I asked the same question a week ago and got the answer I suspected. :(
Also got the same pic included. Great visual. :)

fe342185
08/12/2007, 10:32 PM
http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/38008mini-IMG_0295.JPG

I have an adult one and he has eaten zoos and some leathers. Left all SPS, LPS , mushrooms, and star polyps alone. Also picks at a clam every now and then. He is too nice to get rid of though.

KuanTi
08/13/2007, 12:12 AM
it depends on the fish too. i had one that didnt eat anything. just search the threads you'll see a lot.

mattsilvester
08/13/2007, 03:55 AM
It really is a "suck it and see" scenario.
Your odds of sucess are increased by:
(1) providing a large tank with lots of LR.
(2) providing a plentiful and varied diet i.e. keep him well fed.
(3) providing nori on a constant basis so if he feels the need to graze, he can.
(4) buy a small juvanile (not tiny) 2.5 to 3" is ideal

However, inspite of your best efforts, he could turn around and eat everything....... then again you could get lucky and have him eat nothing, or target only one specific type of coral.