PDA

View Full Version : True Perculas Turning Black?

Saltwaterstart
08/17/2007, 08:50 PM
This is my first time on the anemone and clownfish forum, but hopefully it won't be my last.

I purchased two true percula clownfish about a month ago, and they were already in QT in the store, and given the correct treatments for brookynella and ich. This is what I hope, and is probably most likely, because it is the most respected LFS in my area!

Anywho...

One of the clowns is having a bit of a colour change...

The top half of his body is substantially darker than his lower half. He was a yellow to orange tinge in the first place, but now the top half of his body is almost a brown to black! She is still acting normal, and just to make sure, I dip my hand in the tank and she comes up and nips at my fingernails (I had a pair of ocellaris clowns who stopped doing this... and died 6 days later). She is eating regular feedings of high quality plankton, and even a little bit more than she used to be.

The other clown is doing perfectly fine, and has no signs of any stress!

Is this at all normal?

If it is not... What should I do?

55semireef
08/17/2007, 10:18 PM
Is your Percula hosting any LPS corals? What kind of foods are you feeding your Percs?

I have seen some Percs have their black markings really fill in as they got older. Could just be a normal sign of aging. See what others have to say too.

Can you post a picture to reassure us with what you are describing here?

Thanks

Saltwaterstart
08/17/2007, 10:39 PM
I am feeding daily doses of phytoplankton, and maybe a vitamin enriched flake food if I am out of the frozen stuff.

I'll post a pic as soon as I find my camera!

Haddonisreef
08/18/2007, 06:27 AM
i know my picassos are getting there blk marking farily fast. I m no expert but i would have to sat that its a sign of ageing;)

Saltwaterstart
08/18/2007, 09:28 AM
I don't know how old the perculas are, but they can't be that old.