PDA

View Full Version : Does kalkwasser affect magnesium?

spreston
08/21/2007, 10:09 AM
I have been dosing kalk for around 3 months. I only dose 7 hours at night, via a dyi kalk reactor with IV drip feed through a overhead ro/di storage tank controlled by a solenoid on a timer. Since I started dosing kalk my calcium has been steady, as well my alk has been steady.

Since I started using kalk (kent kalwasser), my magnesium has been a constant battle. I test weekly for mag and it is usually around 1250, but has been lower. To even maintain it around 1250 which I know should be around 1350, I am having to add 250ml of kent tech-m per week, which seems like alot.

Is this normal?

Also, I have corraline all over the back and side glass, could this be some of the problem?

Ph 8.2
calcium 440
alk 3.25 meq/l
sg 1.025

ps -I recently switched salts from RC to topic marine pro, probably not helping since TM is supposed to be lower in mag.

JetCat USA
08/21/2007, 10:19 AM
http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/dec2003/chem.htm

spreston
08/21/2007, 10:41 AM
Thanks, I have read the article although I don't know if I understand half of it. However, as stated in the third paragraph, it is unlikely that limewater would cause much precipitation of magnesium, rather the depletion was caused by calcification of corals.

I only have a 5 sps's most not more than frags, a dozed lps's and a small crocea. The tank has been setup for 9 months and I wanted it perfect before diving to deep into sps's, but with the magnesium maybe being depleted by no more than I have now, I am nervous about going full blown sps tank.

This is the reason I might think that the corraline is the problem.

Justin74
08/21/2007, 10:50 AM
Im having my own problems understanding the material and theory behind some stuff as well.