PDA

View Full Version : New Biocube14 Setup - RO/DI Water Filters... must have? Newbie w/ 1st Question...

2ndrookie
08/28/2007, 08:33 AM
Hi guys,

Bigtime newbie here. I've messed around w/ FW tanks when I was a kid/teen and now I've decided to make a splash w/ a SW aquarium. My main goal is to raise a pair of Clownfish, 1 Anemone and a couple corals. Been reading around these boards for a few weeks now (as well as nano-reef.com) and I gotta say, you guys have been a big help! Thanx!

Before my question, here is where I'm at right now:

-Empty Biocube 14G - (stand will be arriving hopefully today/tomorrow)
-20-25 LB of Liverock submerged in a 5.5 gallon tank w/ the Biocube stock pump for waterflow (since Friday, about 3-4 days).The rock was lightly scrubbed and rinsed with saltwater I previous had in the Biocube. Instant ocean & tap water was basically mixed and filtered using the stock filter, Chemi Pure and Phoszorb. Did I already commit a no-no by doing this?

Which brings me to my question, should I be worried about my rock?

Oh and should I invest in a RO/DI Water Filter Kit? Any help or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

I plan on posting pictures soon, but in the meantime here is a rough illustration of my tank layout idea... definitely a work in progress. Feel free to send any comments, upgrade ideas or any helpful feedback.

Thanks!
-SH

http://www.thedogateit.com/fish/Tank_Mockup.jpg

Illuminati
08/28/2007, 08:41 AM
Nice plan,

Ditch the plain Chemi-pure and get Chemi-pure Elite so that you don't need to mess with phoszorb. Elite is the same but with phosphate remover.

Also chemi-pure doesn't act like a sponge, I would add something, either a small sponge that is easy to clean or filter floss to catch debris and clean/replace at least weekly.

Looks like your off to a good start.....

2ndrookie
08/28/2007, 08:51 AM
Awesome, I'll keep that in mind next time I need to change filters. Thx for the tip! :)