PDA

View Full Version : anyone use ferro cement for building large tanks?

mmm55645
08/28/2007, 09:47 AM
Anyone use ferro cement to build large tanks? I don't know that much about it, but it seems like it would be strong enough to use instead of using only rebar to create reinforced concrete.

I am thinking of a tanks in the 1000+ gallons size.

Seems like it wouldn't be terribly expensive to build on if you knew what you were doing(I do not) :)

bosborn1
08/28/2007, 02:25 PM
Its my dream to one day try this.

I am a mason by trade and I do poured wall construction. One day I hope to try this out.

Its not required to use ferro. You can always use fiber reinforced concrete with a plasticizer and water reducer to create additional strength.

For me to build a 2000 gallon tank it would only cost about $1k in concrete. Add the glass and its still pretty cheap.

onetrickpony
08/28/2007, 03:25 PM
chk out monster fish . com

mmm55645
09/01/2007, 12:36 PM
Bosborn1, is it cheaper and/or more effective to use fiber reinforced concrete with a plasticizer and water reducer than it is to use chicken wire?
May I pm you a few questions about your trade? There are a few things I been wondering about regarding working with concrete :)

would glass be as safe to use as aryclic or would glass be better for your 2000 gallon tank?

bosborn1
09/01/2007, 04:11 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=10681990#post10681990 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by mmm55645
Bosborn1, is it cheaper and/or more effective to use fiber reinforced concrete with a plasticizer and water reducer than it is to use chicken wire?
May I pm you a few questions about your trade? There are a few things I been wondering about regarding working with concrete :)

would glass be as safe to use as aryclic or would glass be better for your 2000 gallon tank?

In addition to the concrete blended with those additives I am planning to use Rebar and Remesh in the walls and floors.