PDA

View Full Version : What to feed a tiny mantis?

jcerdena
08/28/2007, 06:03 PM
Hey everyone, i picked up a tiny mantis shrimp, (which I'm thinking is a N. Curacaoensis, from its coloration) that is about or just under an inch long. I'm having some trouble getting the mantis to take mysis shrimp, which is about the only thing I can think of that is small enough for the mantis to eat. Does anyone have any suggestions of other foods I could try?

I have Silversides that i might try to cut up real small, but not sure if that would work (my always hungry G. Chiragra won't even eat them). If you have a micro-mantis, let me know what worked for you.

Abaco24
08/28/2007, 06:08 PM
Why are people keeping Mantis Shrimp?

I thought they were the death of a tank? Like having the plague.

Aside from the conservative "it's a live animal" etc..why not just crush it or throw down the toilet?

as a noob I'm confused?

gemini aquarius(t)
08/28/2007, 06:27 PM
they are really amazing animals for one, and they really arent that bad
for one the only thing they are gonna eat is ur fish (maybe) and ur hermits/snails
so ur corals are safe
so why not
they are WAYYYY smarter than anything else u have in the tank

ck1
08/28/2007, 06:32 PM
That is the reason the this forum is needed- so those who are uninformed about mantis shrimp.

Cripes- if animals were smarter- we as humans would be in trouble- because they should crush and flush us for destroying the environment. :rolleyes:

jcerdena
08/28/2007, 06:39 PM
I'm pretty sure it doesn't have anything to do with taking the "conservative" approach, unless you are one of those people that end up with a mantis hitch-hiker and don't want to tear your reef apart to take it out.

Personally, I like them for their coloration and behavior. I have a tank with fish and corals as well, but really don't enjoy it as much and it tends to be more high-maintenance.

jcerdena
08/28/2007, 06:40 PM