PDA

View Full Version : It seems redundant, but this can't be ick?

kremit2003
09/02/2007, 03:33 PM
I have rercently set up a new SW tank. I do not have any live rock, etc. I bought 3 different damsels, all from the same tank, all from Petco (first mistake) just to try them out and see how well the tank was operating. The levels have all been safe and normal which includes the temperature and hydrometer readings. My question is, my new damsels, which didn't show any obvious signs of illness or expecially the infamous white spots of Ick, all exhibited these white spots on their fins and scales about 3 hours after they were gradually introduced to my tank. Now, I am a very experienced FW hobbyist and know a thing or two about Ick, but I am having a hard time believing that my fish, who are still swimming, eating, and otherwise breathing normally, all just instantly produced these white spots only hours after being placed in a tank where they are the first livestock. Any suggestions? And to make things more strange, I woke up this morning and all except for maybe two or three spots are all gone. Nothing is left. Could it be the extremely fine grain sand I have at the bottom? I know SW fish are different from FW but I would think that the parasitic infection such as Ick would behave in relatively the same manner. Please let me know if you have ever experienced this. Also, I have read plenty of your posts on treatment of Ick but was curious if there was a medicine you could just add to the tank, like "Ick Away" for FW fish?

lesages
09/02/2007, 03:57 PM
Without pictures it would be hard to identify what it is.

If your trying to cycle a tank without any live rock with 3 damsels you've got bigger problems though. You need to add all of the live rock/sand you plan on having about a month BEFORE you add any live stock.