PDA

View Full Version : New barebottom nano, need advice/opinions

LockeOak
09/03/2007, 01:03 PM
So after a long distance move I've re-established my 10G tank. I was originally planning on setting it up nearly the same as it was before, with 20lb. of live sand (~2" deep). After putting in the rock, however, I find I really like the bare-bottom look, and after a bit of reading I've decided to go bare-bottom on this tank. Besides aesthetics the (more important) reasons I took into account were that I may be moving frequently and the sand bed seems to be the hardest part of moving a tank or transferring rock from tank to tank, etc. Since it's a 10G I can put all of the LR in a bucket with water and move it easily, sand complicates things. I was also battling a bit of cyano on the sand and it wasn't really deep enough to function as a DSB anyway. Anyway, since I'm new to BB tanks I would like some opinions on the viability of my setup:

10G AGA
2x65W PC 10k/20k
15lb. LR
AC110 HOB fuge filled with chaeto
MJ 600
75W heater
Tank is in window, 2-3 hours natural sunlight per day (w/fan on timer during sunlight period to keep temps down)
Top off with lab RO/DI +kalk
*No skimmer*
1.5G water changes weekly

Livestock:
Mixed corals, zooanthids, frogspawn, montipora, acropora
Cleanup crew (ceriths and hermits, 1 peppermint shrimp)
1 pair ocellaris clowns