PDA

View Full Version : Opinion needed

edacsac
09/11/2007, 09:46 AM
I've been researching a reef tank for over 3 months now. I've learned alot about many aspects, and at least a little bit about everything I think I will eventually touch on within the first year. I've asked questions in about every forum I've come across and have been given alot of good opinions.

At this point I'm still unsure of everything I want to keep, but I have a better idea than when I started.

I know I'm going for a smaller tank, 30 gallon long or XL which is 48x"x12"x12. I want this tank because it has the same height as my current 10gal FW, and it will look uniform and give me the asthetic appeal I'm looking for for my fish area. I also plan to setup 1 or 2 more 10gal tanks for whatever reason.

I know I want a purple firefish,and there are several gobies I like at this point. I know I can have between 4 and 10 fish. I will probably stay with about 5 or 6 depending on who gets along with what. I'm an understock over filter kind of person anyway. My tank will start as a FOWLR tank for the first 6 to 8 months, maybe even the first year. I'm interested in the many different shrimps, crabs and critters I've never had the chance to care for and watch as a newbie reefer.

Once I get into corals, I will probably get into the SPS and defianatly zoos. I don't know what kind of coral a kenya tree is, but I want some of those eventually as well.