PDA

View Full Version : Coral Farming

JoJo2011
09/12/2007, 03:18 PM
Hey! Ok so i'm new to this whole online community but I would like to ask anyone who it applies to and who has time a few questions. I am doing a research project on private coral farming as a way for the hobby to advance itself and at the same time promote awareness about the precarious position of the worlds reefs today. If you can help me out, please respond here and I will try and put my questions up by tomorrow evening.

Roy G. Biv
09/12/2007, 03:38 PM
Welcome to RC.... I'm sure many will chime in to contribute to your cause. Well depending on how new you are to this, you can do a search on fragging corals. Basically taking one coral and splitting it into parts. Then each part will be full grown one day.

JoJo2011
09/12/2007, 03:42 PM
Thanks for the help, but my research is for writing a series of papers and I'm looking at it more for asking people on their opinions about coral farming and whether they do it and how farming helps the natural reefs. Thankyou again by the way. I'm really happy that things are so prompt here.

JoJo2011
09/12/2007, 03:43 PM
If you actively fragment your corals to give to friends or sell then Id love to ask you questions. Let me know, i'm interested in getting information from as many people was possible.

Roy G. Biv
09/12/2007, 04:01 PM
Here's some stuff

http://www.frags.org/
http://www.fragoutpost.com/
http://altisreef.com/index.html (NJ coral farm)
http://www.tampabaysaltwater.com/liverock/index.html (Live Rock Farm)
http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/scateg.cfm?pCatId=1500 (Tank bred fish)

JoJo2011
09/12/2007, 04:05 PM
wow. thanks.

Tennsquire
09/12/2007, 04:26 PM