PDA

View Full Version : red sea supp!!!!

tangman24
09/14/2007, 06:41 AM
Hi guys,

I was just wondering what sort of supplements should i be dosing my reef tank with. ATM I am just adding the
Red Sea Reef Success Calcium + 3 which has Calcium, Strontium, Molybdenum, Iodine. I've also got the
Red Sea Reef Success Coral Trace. Would this be enough or are there other supplements that i should be using as well. In regards
to the Red Sea Reef Success Coral Trace supplements, it says that you should not use it in aquariums that are less than
3 months old. Is there a reasoning behind that are can i just dose it anyway. I was also wondering what i should be feeding my corals and
how often.

I'm new to reef keeping so I was wondering if you guys can comment of my water Quality Parameters and whether they are at normal levels.

PH: 8.3
ca: 500 mg/l
ammonia: 0 mg/l
nitrate: 0mg/l
nitrite:0mg/l
sg: 1.026 sometimes 1.027
temp: 25 to 26.8

Thanks in advance

AegirOfHlesey
09/14/2007, 09:13 AM
In general, it's not a good idea to dose something you can't measure. Just stick with calcium and a buffer, all of the rest will be replaced through regular water changes (you may need to dose magnesium, get a test kit for it and check).

AegirOfHlesey
09/14/2007, 09:16 AM
I just noticed your Ca is 500, don't dose that for a while, try to keep that ~400. Check your dKH (carbonate alkalinity), try to keep that between 9-12. Everything else looks good, sg is on the high end, but still ok, I don't know C temps.

michaeljames
09/14/2007, 10:43 AM
I would try and maintain your ca at 420 if your going to keep hard corals and lower your sg to around 1.024

mwwhite
09/14/2007, 10:55 AM
Good advice - don't dose what you don't test for. There are some great articles about water parameters in the Reef Chemistry forum.