PDA

View Full Version : macro algae in display tank?


chirojosh
09/17/2007, 05:56 PM
Hi, Im thinking of putting some macro algae in my 75G Fowlr. Its and aggressive tank, will have a picasso trigger, SFE, and a small school of chromis. I like the lok of have nice macro in the tank plus I figure it will help with nutrient export. My question is what type should I look at, and how much light do I need. I have this light fixture(didnt plan on having plants before)

http://www.petsolutions.com/Current-USA-Satellite-Powercompact-Lights+I42901001+C33.aspx

its the single 48" it has (2) 65w "smartpaq bulbs" or something. Not sure if this is enough light or not. Any ideas. I dont have a sump, and dont want to set up a fuge. Thanks

Chibils
09/17/2007, 06:01 PM
That should be more than enough. Look at chaetomorpha, it's cheap, popular, and it grows like a weed. Can't really think of any downsides other than having to trim it down a lot.

chirojosh
09/17/2007, 06:32 PM
im reading on WWM that it needs like 5 watts per gallon, is this ture, would I be able to grow anything useful with 130W in my 75g. If not just may have to do water changes [profanity], not fun

Aquarist007
09/17/2007, 07:05 PM
water changes are a fact of reefing---you have to do them and do them regularily.
You could grow cheato algae in your main tank---but you have to harvest it occasionaly(remove some) other wise the nitrates are not removed from your water column.
cheato can also clog powerheads, filters overflows etc etc

Have you considered setting up a separate refugium for growing cheato?

bertoni
09/17/2007, 07:09 PM
That lamp should grow plenty of Chaetomorpha, in my experience, as long as the fish don't eat it. :) Removing every trace of Chaetomorpha might be some work, though, if you get tired of it.

Aquarist007
09/18/2007, 09:44 PM
Have a look at the pictures in this thread:
I am using a 25 watt energy saver on 24/7
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1207565