PDA

View Full Version : Please critique my 125g build

mlbarry
09/27/2007, 02:02 PM
I am new to RC and have been reading and reading and reading!! My husband and I had a 75g a few years ago and skimped on some things and ended up with a huge disaster! So, I don't want that to happen again.

I have already ordered my 125g (60x18x25) reef ready tank. I will also have a 33 gallon sump with refugium.

I plan on ordering 'the package' from tampabaysaltwater.com. I was going to order the package for the 150 gallon so I have rock and sand for the main tank and the sump. The package comes with 300lb live rock, 150 lbs live sand, 150 blue leg hermits (isn't that a lot??), 75 astrea snails, 6 tiger tail cucumbers, 3 serpent or brittle stars and 3 pepermint shrimp.

I am going to use RO/DI water.

Skimmer: octopus NW 200 OR octopus recirc 200 (which should I use) OR is there a better choice

Lighting: Hamilton Technology - 2-250w MH and 2-96w compact flourescent

Heaters: 2-200w Jager

Aqua controller JR
Sybon refractometer

What I need help with:
powerheads for inside tank for water movement?
pumps to move water from tank through fuge and back to tank?

Please critique and give me suggestions and comments.

THANKS!

GlobaLPimP
09/27/2007, 02:10 PM
:)WELCOME:)

IMO - The clean-up crew package is too big for a new uncycled tank. I'd let the tank cycle and then slowly add your clean-up crew. I'd add more but I have to get back to work;)

P.S. I love my Tunze power heads:)

riley290
09/27/2007, 02:29 PM
I haven't shopped at TBS but I'm pretty sure "the package" comes in two different shipments, the sand and most rock, and then later when you're ready the rest of the shipment and livestock.

msn711
09/27/2007, 02:29 PM
IMO, 300lbs of live rock is way too much. I would honestly start with 125lb, and order more if you need it. I also think TBS is overkill and overpriced, but that's just me.