PDA

View Full Version : Coral not growing or spreading

ElLatino
10/06/2007, 11:30 PM
I'm fairly new to the hobby and still learning the names of the different live stock. I have a 75 gal tank with approx 80 lbs of live rock (mixed) and approx 1" of live sand.

As for lighting I have Coralife's 250 watt canopy. For filtration I have a Eheim (for 100 gal) and a Fuval 304, along with an Aquarium Systems skimmer and a 25 watt UV system.

I currently have 10 different species of soft coral, mushrooms, polyps, and and open brain. My problem is that although everything looks fine, my mushrooms and polyps are not spreading and in general, nothing is getting any bigger.

This particular setup I've had it up for a little over a year now. I am hoping I have significant lighting in the tank as the current canopy does not allow room for anything else.

I'm hoping it has more to do with the additives. I currently use myces, calcium, sea elements, iodine, and other tiems that i can't remember their names at this time.

Can anyone offer me any suggestions or tell me what may be wrong with my setup? Any feedback is appreciated.

WI Reef Lover
10/07/2007, 04:42 PM
I actually toss a little coral accel in my tank (made by kent marine) maybe that will help. It says to put it in everyday but i only add some once a week or every other. (I don't have a protein skimmer on my tank so I'm always afraid of overdosing something). I've had my tank for about 2 years now and I've really noticed more growth lately then previously. Sometimes I think you just don't always notice it. I know for me, I have a tendency to rearrange more than I should so it's hard to tell sometimes and I'm looking at it everyday so sometimes it's just that I'm so accustomed to what I'm seeing I don't notice the growth. Although I guess you would definately notice more mushrooms. I've just only now started to see them multiply and some seem to do that more readily than others.

Chibils
10/07/2007, 05:18 PM