PDA

View Full Version : Coral not growing or spreading

ElLatino
10/06/2007, 11:30 PM
I'm fairly new to the hobby and still learning the names of the different live stock. I have a 75 gal tank with approx 80 lbs of live rock (mixed) and approx 1" of live sand.

As for lighting I have Coralife's 250 watt canopy. For filtration I have a Eheim (for 100 gal) and a Fuval 304, along with an Aquarium Systems skimmer and a 25 watt UV system.

I currently have 10 different species of soft coral, mushrooms, polyps, and and open brain. My problem is that although everything looks fine, my mushrooms and polyps are not spreading and in general, nothing is getting any bigger.

This particular setup I've had it up for a little over a year now. I am hoping I have significant lighting in the tank as the current canopy does not allow room for anything else.

I'm hoping it has more to do with the additives. I currently use myces, calcium, sea elements, iodine, and other tiems that i can't remember their names at this time.

Can anyone offer me any suggestions or tell me what may be wrong with my setup? Any feedback is appreciated.

erendon
10/07/2007, 07:45 AM
You make no mention on what your water paramiters are; Calcium, Alk, PH, Nitrate, phospate Etc. They play a BIG part in you coral growth. I would go that way first then move on from there.

amike5
10/07/2007, 08:47 AM
Do you have fish in this tank as well? How about a refugium? Are your corals getting food? Your UV may be killing their natural source of food.

GoingPostal
10/07/2007, 09:35 AM