PDA

View Full Version : Phosban DIY


dent2011
10/19/2007, 07:06 PM
Anyone have any good DIY plans/links for a phosban type reactor?

InADream
10/19/2007, 10:04 PM
Unless you love doing DIY projects, I would juse buy one... They are 35 bucks normally and will save a headache... I just built one and after buying everything it cost me 25.00 and for 7 bucks more at my LFS i could have bought one and it would be easier...

Dream

spscrackhead
10/20/2007, 09:05 PM
this is true, unless you want a huge one that will hold pounds of GFO

Aquarist007
10/20/2007, 09:07 PM
here is a good set up for 70 dollars:
two reactors --one for carbon and one for phosban
http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r107/reefescapetangster/IMG_4525.jpg

BeanAnimal
10/21/2007, 07:08 AM
I would agree...

I started to buildone and realized that it was not worth the trouble.

adnup
10/21/2007, 11:31 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11016573#post11016573 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by capn_hylinur
http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r107/reefescapetangster/IMG_4525.jpg

Is that garden hose on those reactors?

Aquarist007
10/21/2007, 01:39 PM
yep 1/2" cheapo--6 bucks for 25 feet---I guess you can consider this setup DYI---LOL

the other I used for a sump dump and saltwater refill dyi--along with a powerhead I can clean the sump out and add 25gal of new salt water in under 10 min----cool eh

eagleONE
10/21/2007, 03:06 PM
you should connect the two reactor in series if you haven't already.. pump to the carbon first then to gfo. but make sure there's a valve going into the gfo

Aquarist007
10/21/2007, 03:19 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11020157#post11020157 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by eagleONE
you should connect the two reactor in series if you haven't already.. pump to the carbon first then to gfo. but make sure there's a valve going into the gfo

why :confused: I thought two separate pumps allowed for better individual control

spscrackhead
10/21/2007, 05:27 PM
does the water on the carbon one go from bottom to top? it should go from top to bottom for carbon

ronald7410
10/21/2007, 05:59 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11020942#post11020942 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by spscrackhead
does the water on the carbon one go from bottom to top? it should go from top to bottom for carbon
Why is this? ^^^^^^