PDA

View Full Version : 55 gallon stocking

imrandy85
10/26/2007, 12:43 AM
I've been thinking about starting a 55 gallon FOWLR tank with a 30 gallon sump. I have zero experience with saltwater aquariums but I've had freshwater setups for a while now. I've been trying to read/listen to a lot of information. I'm not really looking to set this thing up right now but more trying to learn a little bit more. This is the stocking I came up with. Are these fish compatible? Is there anything special I should know about them? Do I have room for more or should I cut back on something?

lol forgot to post my list, getting it now

here it is:

1 flame angel Centropyge loricula
2 firefish Nemateleotris magnifica
1 yellow tang Zebrasoma flavescens
1 lawnmower blenny Salarias fasciatus
1 royal gramma Gramma loreto

demonsp
10/26/2007, 12:44 AM
IMO FOWLR would work much bigger in a larger tank. Most of the FO fish can get large. You would only have 2 mb 3 fish. As a reef you can get 5 or 6 plus many coral.

imrandy85
10/26/2007, 12:58 AM
The only reason I was thinking FOWLR was because I thought I could get some experience that way and upgrade the lighting later on when I want to get corals. I figured trying to jump into reef right away would be a little harder.

demonsp
10/26/2007, 01:09 AM
You can get a beutifull reef tank with good PC lighting. The higher whatts the better.All soft and many other coral do fine with this light. And the fish dont mind the light at all but dont look as colorful as they would under MH or T-5. You could go FOWLR but will be boreing.

The most important thing with reef tanks are researching the whl setup before you start buying. From size ( 55 good beginner size ) to LR to substrate to lighting and type of stock and coral. This is what makes it seem alot easier then most say.
Its what you know not can i have a completely stocked reef in 3 months. Which usaully fails unless you have the funds to bail yourself out.

AquaReeferMan
10/26/2007, 01:19 AM