PDA

View Full Version : Oddysea PS160 Skimmer

dle
10/31/2007, 09:50 PM
Hi all,
I have been using the Odyssea PS160 Skimmer for 3 months now and it does not seem to get alot in the collection cup. I tuned the airline and exit nozzle but the best I can get is greenish looking tea.

Is there something I can do to make it work better? I seen posts of modding pumps, can that be done with the stock pump that comes with it or do I need to get a new NW pump with mesh mod? Please let me know what I can do to get this skimmer to work better.

I know there is a huge thread on this skimmer but I do not want to look through 1000's of posts.

Thanks in advance.

luke33
11/01/2007, 06:10 AM
Its simple mods that will make it pull 5x's the air it does stock. First, take out the large tube in the center of the skimmer, the extra one, not the water return one. Second jerk off teh venturi and pump and add 1-2layers of mesh on it. Then take a 1/2" male pvc fitting and drill a hole in it just were the threads begin and put a 1/4" hose adapter in it with a slit cut open towards the pump. Then take a small piece of 1/2" pvc, slide it into the pvc adapter until it touches the air 1/4" hose adapter. hook it back up and it'll do 15scfh and 5x's the air. It was pulling 3scfh stock. Hope that helps. This completely milks out the skimmer

masonicman
11/01/2007, 09:13 AM
I get foam that turns into a lot of brownish looking tea. I this normal?

luke33
11/01/2007, 11:40 AM
Sure, thats normal, if you lower your h20 level a little bit more it'll get darker and darker to a point. Thats how you adjust to pull wet or dry skimmate. There's many different colors, from green tea, to dark green to light brown to dark brown to black.

dle
11/02/2007, 05:51 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11094808#post11094808 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by luke33