PDA

View Full Version : Flow through phosban reactor w/carbon


jeffreyr
11/02/2007, 08:27 PM
What flow is recommended for a two little fishes phosban reactor using carbon for media?

MeuserReef
11/02/2007, 09:40 PM
I would say as reasonably high as possible so that you would get more water/carbon contact time

homebrewdude
11/03/2007, 07:43 AM
Is it supposed to be normal or reverse flow??
I have seen some mention to flow from the top down.

pjf
11/03/2007, 10:45 AM
The flow is supposed to be bottom up. The flow should be slow enough so the top surface of the fragile Phosban media is "gently boiling" and not tumbling.

Frankly, I believe that if you use a sponge pad to contain the media, you may reverse the flow to prevent tumbling.

Alternatively, you may mix the more durable carbon with the Phosban or sandwich a layer of Phosban between two layers of carbon. These alternatives allow for faster flow without causing the Phosban to crumble into dust.

nyvp
11/03/2007, 10:46 AM
actually you dont want alot of flow because the carbon/phosban crash together and turns to dust. all you want is just enough for the top few beads to move

Henry Bowman
11/03/2007, 11:03 AM
I agree with NYVP. I run about 150 gph through 2 reactors in series. I run carbon through the first one and PhoSar in the 2nd. The instructions say to hook them up so they flow bottom to top and the phosar just barely moves or "boils" at the top of the reactor. It works very well for me. I use a minijet to feed them.

LooklikeME
11/03/2007, 12:18 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11109213#post11109213 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Henry Bowman
I agree with NYVP. I run about 150 gph through 2 reactors in series. I run carbon through the first one and PhoSar in the 2nd. The instructions say to hook them up so they flow bottom to top and the phosar just barely moves or "boils" at the top of the reactor. It works very well for me. I use a minijet to feed them.
Ii was just about to ask who runs the reactors in series.What size mini jet are you using?

Henry Bowman
11/03/2007, 01:03 PM
I'll have to check when I get home. I know I got it through Marine Depot.

MeuserReef
11/03/2007, 06:28 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11106519#post11106519 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by jefferyR
What flow is recommended for a two little fishes phosban reactor using carbon for media?


I dont think he's running GFO in his reactor. If running carbon alone, I would run a high flow.

Running 2 reactors in series sounds like the best idea to me.

Timinator
11/04/2007, 12:46 AM
A minijet 606 should work perfectly for you running carbon. The 404 is perfect with the Phosban media.