PDA

View Full Version : Hair Algae battle

Sander1001
11/10/2007, 03:11 PM
I have my system behind RODI and somehow my phosphates rose to unpresidented levels to my surprise. I hadn't checked them in years as they where never a problem with the filter. But I instaled a phosphate reacator and they don't even regeister now, but the algae is not going away. How to I retaliate?

m2434
11/10/2007, 03:18 PM
Usually, when I have hair algae, I add GFO and it starts to die in a few days to a week.

Reeftard29
11/10/2007, 10:51 PM
I am a bit new to the reef world. Can you explain " GDO" I am having a terrible problem with algae myself. The tank has been running about a year and pretty much with little effort. Probably too little. In the last couple of months my tank has been taken oven by algae and I can't figure out how to kill it. I bought some phosoban and but it in the little tray in the back where the water flows. Sorry i don't really know the technical terms. I have a built in filtering system. Within about a week of putting the back in the tank, my fish dies, my 3 new turbo snails died?? I was careful not to but the bag in a place where the water flows to quickly.
Anyhow, I would like to know how to get rid of this algae that is growing on everything: in the back of tank, the rocks, the sand the blowers, starting to grow in my brains and surrounding my mushrooms.
Any help is greatly appreciated
Thanks

uscharalph
11/10/2007, 11:34 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11156207#post11156207 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by m2434
Usually, when I have hair algae, I add GFO and it starts to die in a few days to a week.
GFO?

Sarcophyton874
11/10/2007, 11:42 PM
Get the F Out (GFO)

treejohnny
11/11/2007, 12:46 AM
If you go to the plant part of this forum they have a sticky for hair algae ID. Different types require different steps for removal.