PDA

View Full Version : Calcium Reactor Media?


bundy13
11/12/2007, 11:42 PM
I have an Aquamedic Calcium reactor that came with a coarse media that i dont know what it is ,i have been using it about a year and it has been keeping my CA. and ALK. in my reef just right,

My question is i had someone install and they were maintaining my tank but they aren't around anymore so i will be needing to add some media to the reactor since its getting low

i have some hydrocarbonate media that is much finer that the coarse media in the reactor now

can i just take the top off my reactor ,syphon some buildup that has accumulated on the old media over the past year,
add the new finer media on top of what's left of the old coarse media,and recalibrate ph back to 6.6 and im set or is there something im missing,last thing i want to do is mess with my ALK right now with a bunch of new SPS corals in the tank thanks

bundy13
11/13/2007, 10:16 AM
have a link that can help,on CA. reactor maintance ,and changing media,thanks

saltysupply
11/13/2007, 10:52 AM
caribsea reactor media would be good, not to expensive either

ErikS
11/13/2007, 11:32 AM
It's best, especially with different media types, to clean out & refill the unit.

The only real difference between the two types:

1) more flow through reactor with chunky type
2) fine type can run @ a higher PH (high 6's)

You likely need to adjust your bubble count down for the new fine media.