PDA

View Full Version : new 22cm Lysiosquillina Maculata

Scarab138
11/23/2007, 12:08 PM
Hello Everyone, Firstly, I want to apologize for my long and drawn out posting, but since this is my first post I wanted to introduce myself to you all.

My name is Jay, I am from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. I have 20 years of experience working with animals, mainly reptiles (as a teen) and land inverts ( I currently run The Bug Room, a live "bug" gallery here, at The Royal Alberta Museum). Even though I work at a museum I have no scientific background, I am really just the museum's zookeeper. I have limited experience with aquariums, even though I worked at pet shops for about eight years. That was back in the days when most people thought salt water could be done in nothing smaller than a 50gal. tank (my, how the world has changed). The closest I have come to keeping salt water critters was a brackish 90gal. Mudskipper tank. For a number of years I have wanted to add a couple of marine tanks to The Bug Room. With all the truly spectacular inverts found in the worlds oceans, how could I not?

A month ago, I set up a 15gal. tank, here at work, with 25 pounds of live rock and 25 pounds of live sand. We have a Peacock Mantis Shrimp in this tank ( he is about three inches now), and we will be getting a custom made tank, with half inch glass, once we are ready to put him on display. He seems to be doing very well. He is eating EVERYTHING I give him in the way of live food, but when it comes to frozen food he seems to just bury it in the sand.

Okay, I am getting closer to asking some questions, please bare with me.