PDA

View Full Version : Rowaphos

auckreef
12/12/2007, 01:50 AM
Firstly, my current tank is a 3 year old 55 gallon bare bottom, mainly sps. It's been going real well but over the last 6 months or so has got a bryopsis problem that has steadily worsened till it's just TOO bad & i've decided to start up my old phosphate reactor, with rowaphos.

The question is i've heard horror stories about Rowaphos causing TN, so just hoping people can give me any info on this & point me in the right direction. :)

Where I'm up to so far is I started the reactor 2 days ago, I'm going gently with just 1/10th litre of Rowaphos in the reactor. It was thoroughly flushed first till the water was clear, and is on a timer so the reactor comes on 4 times per day for 15 minutes per time. This is to hopefully avoid shock, and I'm hoping to increase this till it's eventually running 24/7.

I love my acros most of them I have been growing for many years I don't want any damage, so anything anyone can share with me re using Rowaphos safely will be greatly appreciated.

Kip
12/12/2007, 12:22 PM
i think you have it covered.... start with a low dose and be sure to rinse the media in ro/di before use

Kinetic
12/12/2007, 12:26 PM
no need to have it come only only sometimes per day, that might be worse than having it on constantly.

have you checked your phosphate levels? or are you doing this on a hunch? If I wer eyou, I would test for phosphate and monitor it slowly.

auckreef
12/13/2007, 04:44 AM
Thanks Kip. You say start with a low dose, you mean next change i could use a larger quantity?

Kinetic, yes I have a hanna colorimeter, phosphate is low but I think it is all in the algae. As for monitoring phosphate reduction slowly, I'm not convinced the problems caused by Rowaphos are nessecarily due to reduction in phosphate, they could be something else. But I'm not sure.

Why worse to have it come on several times per day?

Mike de Leon
12/13/2007, 07:13 AM