PDA

View Full Version : 20 gallon high nano tank

Phoenix19
12/12/2007, 11:15 PM
Okay, I inherited what was supposed to be a 29 gallon aquarium. It's a 20 high...surprise,surprise. So I have been debating setting up a saltwater tank for a few months now.

I work at a Petland so I am familiar with saltwater fish, corals, and other invertebrates, but at a certain point my knowledge sort of fails me. Our livestock are not in display tanks, interacting with one another and they are certainly not adults. And information on the internet is contradictory when referring to the sizes certain adult fish will reach.

I would like to know some information about the fish I have been looking at as a possible stocking list for a twenty high.

Here are the fish I was looking at:

What I really want:

False Percula Clownfish (Amphiprion ocellaris), Pygmy or Cherub Angel (Centropyge argi), Firefish (Nemateleotris magnifica), Yellow Clown Goby (Gobiodon okinawae), and Scooter Blenny (Synchiropus stellatus)

Possible alternatives:

Rainford's Goby (Amblygobius rainfordi), Royal Gramma (Gramma loreto), and Banggai Cardinal (Pterapogon kauderni)

Regardless of which fish I chose I do want this to be a reef aquarium, with a few corals, snails and shrimp, a little caulerpa, and possibly an anemone like a bubble. Basically what are your thought on these fish. How well they would mix, how well they won't mix...reef safe, not reef safe, adult sizes, personal feelings, etc...

As far as the set up goes. I plan on starting the tank with 10 lbs of CaribSea livesand and 15 lbs of aragonite and several pieces of live rock. I will also be adding marine BioSpira to help with the cycle. I am going to be using a SeaClone 100 protein skimmer. As far as lighting goes I am still undecided. I don't have the money for the really expensive lights and was thinking about using a ZooMed Reef-Sun bulb.