PDA

View Full Version : Switch: what code am i missing


benf
12/16/2007, 10:44 AM
I have the following:
If Switch1 CLOSED Then DOS OFF
If Switch1 CLOSED Then ALM ON
If Switch2 CLOSED Then RTN OFF
If Switch2 CLOSED Then UVS OFF
If Switch2 CLOSED Then AnB OFF
If Switch2 CLOSED Then ALM ON

yet when i manually move the float switch nothing happens...i verified the connection with an ohm meter and the circuit completes, so i am thinking its a code problem.

thanks
Ben

Roy G. Biv
12/16/2007, 03:16 PM
I think for every "CLOSED" you need the opposite "OPEN"

benf
12/16/2007, 05:19 PM
I am thinking its more of a setting on the AC3. I was looking at some of my old coding that worked with float switches and didnt have an Open.

I also ckd the switches again with a meter and they seem to be ok, i also ckd the cable and i have continuity on that as well. On the AC3 i have exp probes Off as i am not using the break out box. What is left to check? The mini din does connect to I/O and not serial right? Got to be something i am overlooking.

Kengar
12/16/2007, 06:37 PM
did you just set up the minidin recently, or is the float switch arrangement something you 've been using already? If the former, are both switches using a common minidin? Do you have the leads soldered to correct pins on the mindin, including one lead from each float switch to ground? Have you properly assigned all variables?

benf
12/16/2007, 08:09 PM
its a setup that was working...my sump was under my tank and i moved it to outside and now the switches dont work after reconnecting them. I used my ohm meter conductivity test(sound) and with the switch in one position it was silent and when i triggered the switch it completed the circuit and i heard the sound. Thats why i think the switches are ok. I used the same meter for the cable and verified the pins and all ok there too.

clp
12/17/2007, 05:40 PM
What are the other statements for these devices? Probably best to copy & paste the whole program. To test I'd eliminate the float switches althogether, and use a small piece of wire to short from the input to ground on the minidin 8 connector. When that works then try your float switch assembly.

Curt

benf
12/17/2007, 06:20 PM
this is my entire coding less the names:
If Time > 09:59 Then MH1 ON
If Time > 20:30 Then MH1 OFF
If Temp > 81.4 Then MH1 OFF
If Time > 10:15 Then MH2 ON
If Time > 20:45 Then MH2 OFF
If Time > 10:30 Then MH3 ON
If Time > 21:00 Then MH3 OFF
If Temp > 80.9 Then MH3 OFF
If Time > 21:58 Then MON ON
If Time > 02:00 Then MON OFF
If Time > 05:00 Then MON ON
If Time > 08:00 Then MON OFF
If Time > 08:00 Then ACT ON
If Time > 11:15 Then ACT OFF
If Time > 14:15 Then ACT ON
If Time > 22:03 Then ACT OFF
If Time > 00:00 Then RTN ON
If Time > 00:00 Then AnB ON
If Time > 00:00 Then UVS ON
If pH < 08.04 Then DOS ON
If pH > 08.04 Then DOS OFF
If Time > 00:00 Then OZN ON
If ORP < 400 Then OZN ON
If ORP > 415 Then OZN OFF
If Time > 06:00 Then STR ON
If Time > 06:10 Then STR OFF
If Time > 19:00 Then STR ON
If Time > 19:05 Then STR OFF
If FeedA 000 Then TZ1 OFF
If FeedA 000 Then TZ2 OFF
If FeedB 000 Then TZ1 OFF
If FeedB 000 Then TZ2 OFF
If Switch1 CLOSED Then DOS OFF
If Switch2 CLOSED Then RTN OFF
If Switch2 CLOSED Then UVS OFF
OSC 060/180 ON/OFF Then FO1 ON
OSC 180/060 ON/OFF Then FOO ON
OSC 120/120 ON/OFF Then FO2 ON
If Timer FO2 = OFF Then TZ1 OFF
If Timer FO2 = ON Then TZ1 ON
If Timer FO1 = ON Then TZ1 PF1
If Timer FOO = OFF Then TZ1 PF2
If Timer FO2 = ON Then TZ2 OFF
If Timer FO2 = OFF Then TZ2 ON
If Timer FO1 = ON Then TZ2 PF3
If Timer FOO = OFF Then TZ2 PF4
If Timer MON = ON Then TZ1 PF5
If Timer MON = ON Then TZ2 PF5
Pmp MODE sD for PF1
Pmp Int 030/100 for PF1
Pmp OSC 10/10/00 for PF1
Pmp MODE sD for PF2
Pmp Int 030/100 for PF2
Pmp OSC 50/50/00 for PF2
Pmp MODE SD for PF3
Pmp Int 030/100 for PF3
Pmp OSC 10/10/00 for PF3
Pmp MODE SD for PF4
Pmp Int 030/100 for PF4
Pmp OSC 00/50/50 for PF4
Pmp MODE SD for PF5
Pmp Int 030/060 for PF5
Pmp OSC 50/50/00 for PF5
If Time > 00:00 Then ALM OFF
If Temp > 82.0 Then ALM ON
If Temp < 78.0 Then ALM ON
If pH > 08.30 Then ALM ON
If pH < 07.80 Then ALM ON
If ORP > 430 Then ALM ON
If Switch1 CLOSED Then ALM ON
If Switch2 CLOSED Then ALM ON

benf
12/17/2007, 06:22 PM
Here are the names for above:
MH1$-A1
MH3$-A2
MH2$-A3
MON$-B13
ACT$-B10
DOS$-A4
OZN$-B9
RTN$-B12
AnB$-B11
TZ1#-E1
TZ2#-E2
UVS%-B16
STR%-B15
FOO%-C1
FO1%-C2
FO2%-C3
ALM%-A9

benf
12/17/2007, 06:55 PM
Good News!!!! It now works...one variable that didnt occur to me was the fact that the mini din cable i was using had mini din connectors on both ends and i had cut the cable to the desired length i needed while the sump was in the house. Now that the sump is outside i decided to use the longer piece and chose the same 3 color wires thinking that is all i would need to do, but in fact the ground wire was green before and now its the purple. Go figure!!

Kengar
12/18/2007, 08:10 AM
well THAT was an interesting situation. Good catch!

benf
12/18/2007, 08:30 AM
thanks...still think its weired i had to change the ground!

Hows the weather been up there... I used to work in Rockville

Kengar
12/18/2007, 09:46 AM
brisk, but nice out. so much for the forecasted winter storm we were supposed to get. I went out and bought a new generator just in case. . . . . glad not to have needed it.

Where in R'ville did you work, an dwhat's a dosimetrist?

benf
12/18/2007, 10:01 AM
I used to work not far from the courthouse...Used to be a Speed Shop next to a Pier One in a shopping center. Many Many moons ago :)

Dosimetrist...i do Radiation Treatment Planning for Cancer patients.