PDA

View Full Version : 90 Gal Plumbing Thread

kar93
12/31/2007, 06:56 PM
I will be setting up a 90gal tank soon and im not really good with plumbing so i was wondering what i should do, can i just have a PVC pipe going straight to the skimmer section in the sump and then a pipe going from the return pump section to the tank?

Here is what i thought i could do:

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/169354tank_design-med.jpg

Cuby2k
12/31/2007, 07:05 PM
Hmmm, not exactly sure what your concern is Kar, but if I understand it I'd say it looks fine.

kar93
12/31/2007, 07:08 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11494317#post11494317 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Cuby2k
Hmmm, not exactly sure what your concern is Kar, but if I understand it I'd say it looks fine.

My concern was if the straight forward piping to the sumo would be ok becuase i see on lots of tank they have tons of piping behind there tank.

dc_909
12/31/2007, 07:19 PM
It is fine.

kar93
12/31/2007, 07:27 PM
I notice that some people have little red switches, what are these for? will i need these?

kar93
12/31/2007, 07:33 PM
Another thing was would a 15g sump be ok?

poppin_fresh
12/31/2007, 08:11 PM
with such a small sump, you will want to keep the turnover to a minimum. If you buy a large return pump it will be way too much flow to maintain a 'fuge in the middle.

kar93
12/31/2007, 08:32 PM
what size sump would you recommend?

poppin_fresh
12/31/2007, 08:45 PM
With a 15 gallon sump I would go for around 150-200gph after headloss. With out knowing your plumbing I cannot make recommendation for a pump.

You can use this calculator to plug in some parameters and see what a certain pump may provide for flow.

http://www.reefcentral.com/calc/hlc2.php

chrismunn
12/31/2007, 08:53 PM
there should be room for somethnig around a standard 55g under the stand for a 90g, your tank is 48" right?