PDA

View Full Version : Urgent lighting system change suggestions.

skip0211
01/05/2008, 06:59 PM
Hi Everyone,

I have been using an Aqua Medic 72" Aquaspacelight for 5 years. It's 72' on a 265 gal reef tank. I've been using 3 250 10k HQI's with the 4 24 watt Blue compacts. I've always liked the fixture and have had good coral growth. Needless to say it's hot and heavy. During my annual bulb change over the holidays, my middle HQI wouldn't light. I took it apart and discovered that one of the transformers was fried from it's heat over the years. I ordered a new one from Aquamedic (Global Aquatic now). Got it today and when I went to attempt to wire it, the next transformer crumbled in my hands. I need another one obviously. The third one looks like it is next. So before I continue to throw money at this I'm asking for suggestions as to a good replacement fixture. Needless to say have to move quickly as I've placed an old 4 bulb power compact system from my breeder tank over it for now. Corals will get stressed quickily though. Thanks for any suggestions and opinions.

Skip

NealNano
01/05/2008, 07:35 PM
PFO makes some great HM and LED lights as does Hamiltin.

Roy G. Biv
01/05/2008, 08:54 PM
I think you may be better keeping up with the one you have because 72" fixtures can get expensive.
However.. Look up Coralife Aqualight Pro. 72" 250W. I happen to have a new one, extra that I ordered for a friend that I am selling for $1000 and I live less than 2hrs away from you.

ahullsb
01/05/2008, 09:37 PM
I like my Current Outer Orbit. Why not go lumenarcs? :) A 400 watt radium usually looks pretty good to me. I assume you are looking for one fixture though? Some of the newer ones have great mh/t5 combos that you may like.

skip0211
01/06/2008, 12:02 AM
Pmolan,

I'll research the coralife tomorrow ... looks like I have to replace all the transformers as I completly disasembled the light tonite.

ReefEnabler
01/06/2008, 12:33 AM
crispy transformers? ouch.