PDA

View Full Version : Tunze Stream 6101 too big for my 75?


ReefTECK
01/17/2008, 12:11 AM
I guess that all depends on what kind of corals I have in the tank right? I think I want to get rid of the leather that I have anyways, but with the acception of that, most of my corals are sps, lots of acropora (mostly frags at this point) a big birdsnest, a nice size monti.

So 6101 = 3100gph, w/speed controller. I think I want to use it for its pulsating function.

whatt ya think? :)

scotmc
01/17/2008, 12:21 AM
I thought a 6101 was too big for my 90. Looked like a big block in my tank. I went with 2 6045's and 1 6055. They look better in the tank and the magnets make them easy to adjust flow direcion/

badgerlaw
01/17/2008, 05:21 AM
The great thing about the controller is that you can dial back the flow. So I don't think the 6101 is too big for your tank. You dial in the appropriate amount of power to the Tunze.

am3gross
01/17/2008, 05:56 AM
but i agree about the actual size of the powerhead. i have 1 tunze and 2 seio 2600s in my 210 and they are enormous. i could imagine the tunze in a 75. if you can get passed that then i would definately go with the tunze.

new_world_disor
01/17/2008, 06:07 AM
i think that most of the tunze powerheads anre mosters and are only at home inm 120+ but thats just my opinion. im just setting up a 75 system . and trying to run as much CL as possible. but im probs gna have to have 1 or 2 tunza nano/koralia. porbs the new controlable nano.

ad

bigsink
01/17/2008, 06:41 AM
I run a 6100 in my 75 gallon SPS tank and I absolutely love it. Yes, it is a monster. It can be concealed and hidden, with some challenges. I crank it back to a manageable level and set it on the pulsing function. I also run a 6025 and a Korallia 1 on the tank as well.

LobsterOfJustice
01/17/2008, 10:16 AM
Are you going to run it on a controller? There is no reason to get the controllable one if you are not going to run a single or multicontroller.

If you are, I would suggest a 6055. I went with 6000s a few years ago, before the 6055s were available. They arent that bad size-wise, but I would have gone with the 6055s if I were to do it again. You can also do an easy modification to the 6055 to get more flow out of it.

If you aren't going to run it on a tunze controller, get a 6025 and mod it for extra flow.

Craig Lambert
01/17/2008, 10:26 AM
I'll second the 6055's. If you have a sandbed it may be an issue with the 6101. I would pose the question to Rodger on the Tunze Forum. He'll advise you as to what tunze combination would be best.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=92

discocarp
01/17/2008, 10:57 AM
I ran 2 in my 125 plus a few thousand extra gph in my 125. It was barebottom though... If you have a sandbed it might be a problem. Since you have the controller you could just dial it down if its too much.

Waxxiemann
01/17/2008, 11:42 AM
I run 2 6100's on the 7095 in my tank along with 2 sure flow maxi mods and I have no problems. My tank is bare bottom though, I would never be able to get away with this amount of flow if I had sand though.

I would think 1 6101 would be fine in your tank if you are set on it. A couple of 6055's might be more practical though so you could have 1 on each side.

ReefTECK
01/17/2008, 02:42 PM
The tank is already equipped with two Tunze 6045's and two Korallia 4's, I'm just not pleased with the flow I'm getting, the flow seems to taper off about mid tank.

The sand I use is larger in size than most of my previous sand beds. It's gotta lot of shells and larger pieces in it. The rest of the sand is course. Anybody gotta link for that 6055 mod?

Otherwise I think yes I will probably get it with the single controller. I'm gonna check on the dimensions of the PH itself.

thanks for all your input guys!

scotmc
01/17/2008, 02:44 PM
You would be better off with a vortek.

LobsterOfJustice
01/17/2008, 05:33 PM
In that case, I would mod your 6045s. It is a very simple mod, there is a plastic projection inside the housing which restricts flow, just cut it out :)