PDA

View Full Version : Using Two Part - residue build up

Husky_1
01/17/2008, 08:53 AM
Hey Everyone,
I am sure this has been asked, and gone over buy I could not find any information by searching. I have been dosing two part via a pump for about 3 months now and am getting a lot of buildup/sediment in my sump. Its almost like salt creep under the water. It happens in the same area as my Alk drip is going to.

Anyway, about 1.5 months ago I noticed the buildiup starting, but I also noticed that my calc line somehow ended up in the same area as the alk drip line so I moved the calc to a location in the sump "upstream" of the alk. At this point I did not think much about and wrote off the build up to both parts being dumped in the same area. Well last night, I turned off my return pump for some feeding and it would not restart. So I started messing with the pump and could barely take it off of the bottom of the sump, of course there was a little build up in the impellers that I cleaned off. I should note that because of my setup I cannot really see my return chamber so this is why I did not notice it earlier.

I should also mention that I dose kalk in my ATO reservoir. So basically my setup goes like this - Calc drip in my fuge area of the sump, then in the baffles that ATO with Kalk, then in the return I have my Alk Drip.

My current alk/calc levels:
405 calc, 4 meg/dl for alk.

So here are some of the questions I have:

Do you guys that dose via a pump have this problem, and if so what do you do to circumvent it?
Could this be caused by the Kalk?
What do you think the build up is the calc, alk or a mixture of both solutions?
Am I overdosing, and its precipitating out just in this area? I am not sure that this is the case because I have had higher levels of calc/alk in the past. My numbers are not all that high.
Basically I am just trying to prevent waste or build up in the future.

Thanks,

Husky_1
01/17/2008, 08:58 AM
Oh, as far as how much I was dosing: