PDA

View Full Version : Is this email request from ReefGeek valid?


20 20
01/17/2008, 06:36 PM
If so, not a problem, but looks like it might be spam, so I figured I'd ask Greg here to see if it's valid. Contents of the email:


Greetings!
Thank you for subscribing to the receive ReefGeek specials, promotions and updates through our website. In order to protect your privacy we are contacting you to double-check that you still want to receive email comminucations from us.

Please confirm your subscription by clicking the link below.

Confirm Subscription

We ask for your confirmation to protect you from receiving unwanted email. If you do not respond, your email address will NOT be added to this list.

Warmest Regards,


Gregory Morgan
ReefGeek, Inc

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

email: [email protected]
phone: 866-295-9230
web: http://www.reefgeek.com



I've never been asked via email to verify a subscription like that. Plus another thing that made me question the authenticity is the 'from' address:

"Your Friends at ReefGeek [[email protected]]; on behalf of; Your Friends at ReefGeek [[email protected]]"

That looks awful strange to me. If this is valid, just let me know!
:) If not, everyone else be careful.

coseal
01/17/2008, 06:57 PM
i hope it is! i got one too....

DevilBoy
01/18/2008, 07:16 AM
i got one also....

brward5
01/18/2008, 07:22 AM
sending an email to verify your subscription is becoming more common - that way if someone subscribed you and you don't want to get emails from them then you don't confirm - no spam! if i remember right ccsend is a credit card processing company - probably handles email distribution lists as well. i'd bet it's legit. esp if you just bought something from reefgeek

20 20
01/18/2008, 08:54 AM
After getting a gazillion (yes, that's how many I've received) spam emails from people trying to rip me off via ebay or paypal, I've gotten leary of emails that are not from the 'end user'. Usually just delete them, but this one looked like it might actually be legitimate. Not enough to make me click on the link without checking, though! :p

ReefGeek-Greg
01/18/2008, 08:15 PM
Hi All,

We sent the email. The confirmation link should direct you to the ConstantContact web-site which is the company we use to send out our email communications.

Warmest Regards,
Greg@ReefGeek

20 20
01/19/2008, 05:23 AM
Thanks, just wanted to make sure. Can't be too carefull nowadays. Just confirmed!:)