PDA

View Full Version : I caught a Gorilla Crab, now what? (See pic)

nmbeg
01/18/2008, 12:17 AM
I am very new to the hobby, and have just set up a new 125 gallon in-wall build. I got cycled and paramaters looked right, so I bought a sand-sifting gobie, which I haven't seen since I dropped him in the tank almost a week ago. That seemed pretty normal as far as gobies go, until a couple of days ago I saw a gorilla crab:

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/175234gorilla_crab.jpg

Sorry for the poor quality picture, it was a cell phone camera.

Anyway, he looked ugly, and I know from the TBS website that he is a bad guy (http://tbsaltwater.com/thepackage/organisms.html).

I thought he might be the reason for the missing goby, so I ended up killining him. I skewered him with a length of PVC pipe. Since then, I have felt so guilty and ashamed that I don't know if I am cut out for the reefkeeping hobby.

So imagine my dismay today when I discovered another one, bigger, hairier, and uglier. I tried to work up the courage to kill him but could not, so I ended up catching him alive (I took out the rock he was hiding in). Then I dumped him into the sump. He is in the skimmer portion, with no access to the refugium or the return portion. He has plenty of live rock there to live in.

So my question is this: is it OK for me to let him eek out an existence eating detritus in my sump, or is that a bad idea?

thanks,
nabeel

Vinnie71975
01/18/2008, 12:22 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11627892#post11627892 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by nmbeg
I am very new to the hobby, and have just set up a new 125 gallon in-wall build. I got cycled and paramaters looked right, so I bought a sand-sifting gobie, which I haven't seen since I dropped him in the tank almost a week ago. That seemed pretty normal as far as gobies go, until a couple of days ago I saw a gorilla crab:

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/175234gorilla_crab.jpg