PDA

View Full Version : Water Chemistry / dosing question

dileggi
01/18/2008, 01:33 PM
There was a post, a few pages back by now I'm sure. Someone had a question about dosing for CA and some other things.

I basically mentioned on there not to dose anything unless your tests show a reason to raise the levels.

But, I also mentioned, as part of a bi-weekly maintenance, I've been adding the Kent Trace Elements to my water according to the label, which for my small tank is only 1/2 tsp. The label states that you use it as part of a maintenance program to replace trace elements lost through skimming, carbon etc.

Someone answered my post and stated that I was being contradictory because I was in fact dosing for things that I wasn't testing for and adding any trace elements was a waste of time and money.

I'm really just looking to be educated here. As I never dose CA, PH, dKH or anything at all unless my test state otherwise, I've been using this trace element for the last 2 months and technically am not able to test for the things that are being "replenished" by this. I guess I was looking at this as being more of a prevent/tank maintenance thing than acutal dosing.

Anyone having any input of right or wrong or otherwise would be greatly appreciated.

dileggi
01/18/2008, 02:26 PM
Anyone at all?

taillonjohn
01/18/2008, 03:15 PM