PDA

View Full Version : SMS Text messaging Module Pre Release Info


AQD_ottawa
01/20/2008, 11:02 AM
We are pleased to announce on behalf of GHL that the ProfiLux SMS text messaging module will be released in the coming weeks.

This enables the user to receive alarm and power outage warnings direct to their cell phone via text message.

Look out for further announcements here in next few days!

:D

boboxx
01/20/2008, 12:25 PM
Ha nice!!!!
... So that's why you got the new Crackberry :cP


Christian

AQD_ottawa
01/20/2008, 02:54 PM
Actually no, its so I dont have to be chained to this desk 7 days a week keeping tabs on technical questions.

Me and Pearl are doing just fine!

Another update coming soon ref SMS module!

Fliger
01/20/2008, 05:18 PM
This is cool! Will the unit also allow the user to call into the module to check the stats? And to turn on/off devices with the touchtone? Can you set up the module to text you at pre-set times? I travel quite a bit and this is a pretty cool feature!

Edit - also wondering how it address power outtages? Will it text you immediately if your power goes out? It continues to get juice?

And it doesn't need to be hooked to a PC, does it?

chiefzod
01/20/2008, 05:29 PM
Can't wait to get one of these. But i have a few questions.

1. Will it have battery backup (so if the power goes out it will let you know)
2. I think i read in another thread that it will use the RS232 port. What will users who are running the ViewII do?

AQD_ottawa
01/20/2008, 05:50 PM
Few questions I can answer now the rest will be answered as the unit goes through prototype testing.

RS232 - The unit will have more than one RS232 port so you can continue to use your ProfiView and hook up the the PC if you have this connection.

Power outage - it will send an SMS during alarm or after power failure.

PC hook up - Once programmed no you would not need to be hooked up to the PC.

More to follow;)

Fliger
01/20/2008, 05:58 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11646349#post11646349 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by AQD_ottawa
Power outage - it will send an alram SMS when the power comes back on.

PC hook up - Once programmed no you would not need to be hooked up to the PC.

More to follow;)

Good deal on the PC, thanks!

It won't tell you if the power is out? So I assume that if the power goes out - and one of the other parameters is broken, it will text you (before the power returns)?

AQD_ottawa
01/20/2008, 06:11 PM
Patience,, all will come clear in the coming days.

Time to spend some time with the family now,

More info tomorrow

Fliger
01/20/2008, 06:22 PM
:lol: Sorry ... its just that I'd like to make a decision and order tomorrow. My friend read this thread and emailed me that he'll sell me a PC laptop. Can you at least share with us that it still operates and messages during power attages? Kind of defeats the whole purpose of an SMS module.

I'm not skeptical of you, but I was one of the first Aquatronica buyers and told the SMS module would be released ASAP. It took more than TWO YEARS before it finally came out! After waiting half a year I sold it to a good friend. He had it on a 340 full of exotics corals/fish. Guess what happened ... power outtage during vacaion. Whole tank cooked, total loss. A bunch of AZ reefers tried to help but it was all dead. They released the SMS about six months later.

boboxx
01/20/2008, 06:46 PM
Fliger, if you only have a mac, why not get the lan or wireless controller? This way you could fully control the profilux on your mac using Crossover or Wine emulator ( free alternative)
This way only when a firmware is required that you would have to go see you friend :c)

Christian

AQD_ottawa
01/20/2008, 08:02 PM
Release is 8 to 10 weeks I hope that reasures you.

We do not announce the release of a product unless it is official. SO NO you are not going to wait 2 years for this item.

I am providing you with as much info as we get it. As the unit goes through protoype testing more functions will be announced

We hope to have all functions announced in the next week and then a price followed by the official launch date soon after that, not months or years but within a very few weeks.

We will answer the power outage question tomorrow as it is a bit late right now and matthias will be sleeping :o

I am happy to hear you will have a pc and welcome as a future Profilux plus II owner

Matthias Gross
01/21/2008, 12:47 AM
the unit will have a Li-Ion-battery

AQD_ottawa
01/21/2008, 06:15 AM
NEXT UPDATE -

The SMS Module will -

Send SMS on demand so you can call into the unit and check stats

You will be able to turn devises on and off on demand

Program the devise to send text messages at pre set times

The Module has battery back up so in the event of power failure or power outage an alarm will be sent at the time of power outage giving you immediate warning.

Thats a lot of updates in one go.

More to come in the coming days

AQD_ottawa
01/22/2008, 07:45 AM
Small update for you

size of unit - same size casing as the profiLux II (not the plus II) so slightly more compact, actual dimensions to follow.

Global useage - The SMS module will be Quad band giving it global availability. All you need to do is insert a pay as U go SIm card from your country into it, and providing your own cell phone has international roaming you will have global access to your system!

Next update will be with pricing and photo, but please give us some time.

MSHUR
01/22/2008, 01:22 PM
Hi Michael,

In my case would i be able to use SMS unit with my network system?

mike

AQD_ottawa
01/22/2008, 01:53 PM
ERM not sure yet! In your case, In effect you have two systems that share one common control point, but both are seperate from each other, so my assumption would be no as it dials into the specific serial port of that one controller.

But good question that I will get the answer for!

Matthias Gross
01/23/2008, 01:06 AM
Of course I have taken this constellation in account, too.
You connect the SMS-module to the ProfiLux which is configured as router, then both ProfiLux can be accessed via gsm.
->yes

AQD_ottawa
01/23/2008, 05:48 AM
Great thanks for the clarification.

Hope that answers your question Mike.

Best wishes

MSHUR
01/23/2008, 07:56 PM
Thankx Matthias and Michael,
Cant wait to have this option :)

mike

AQD_ottawa
01/23/2008, 08:11 PM
About 8 weeks give or take, we will be getting some of the first released in.

I will let you know when dealers can take pre orders

Regards
Michael

MSHUR
01/23/2008, 08:12 PM
Sounds good !!!


regards,Mike

Fliger
01/23/2008, 09:32 PM
Do you need to insert a SIM card for this unit? Basically you need its own dedicated phone line?

Matthias Gross
01/24/2008, 12:00 AM
Yes, you need a SIM-card.

No, you don't need a dedicated phone line - usage is like your cell phone

erikages
01/24/2008, 08:36 PM
I've got questions about this new unit -- as I'll be one of the first to buy one!

1. I've been researching SIM cards. They do have to registered, and plans are different -- more or less expensive. If you've more experience than I on what North American providers (esp. Canada) that don't gouge for basic service I'd be keen to know this.

2. More importantly, I'd be especially interested in know if you've planned to include a standard phone jack so we can use land lines to generate text messages. This would be a less expensive service to run in the long term.

Many thanks, and looking forward to adding this unit to my system!

Erik

AQD_ottawa
01/25/2008, 10:35 AM
Answers under questions

1. I've been researching SIM cards. They do have to registered, and plans are different -- more or less expensive. If you've more experience than I on what North American providers (esp. Canada) that don't gouge for basic service I'd be keen to know this.

Answer - This varies from service provider which GHL do not have any control over, it is up to you what package or sim card you decide to use.


2. More importantly, I'd be especially interested in know if you've planned to include a standard phone jack so we can use land lines to generate text messages. This would be a less expensive service to run in the long term.

Answer - different protocols, so no

Fliger
01/25/2008, 10:45 AM
There is also a pre-paid option. The cost will vary tremendously from carrier to carrier. I actually cancelled my Sprint - because they did not use SIM cards. I went to AT&T.

Its pretty close to adding another line to your plan - but its a cut down line. Try to predict if you want daily texts, how many texts you'll receive or send to the module. And make sure you can change it. The pre-paid option actually worked out to cost more than adding a line with SMS, solely for the module.

Still, one text that your power is out in a rolling summer blackout and it pays for itself.

Sounds like its going to be a nice unit.

erikages
01/25/2008, 11:58 AM
Thanks Michael. I'll continue to shop out sim cards and will post to this thread a synopsis of best deals. In any event, I look forward to buying this -- it'll be very (very) handy for those of us who travel a lot and worry about tank issues. Peace of mind is worth the few bucks, certainly -- although I'd rather give the money to GHL than to Canadian's cellular providers. :)

Erik

AQD_ottawa
01/25/2008, 12:54 PM
or you could just donate to the "Michael needs to go back to the Maldives" fund:p

AQD_ottawa
01/30/2008, 02:23 PM
Small update

Prototype is being worked on next week, then pricing to folow after that and still on scedule for the release early spring

erikages
01/30/2008, 04:10 PM
Good news, Michael. Put me on the list!

Erik Ages

MSHUR
01/30/2008, 05:41 PM
Great!!!! please put me on as well...

mike

GeD
02/03/2008, 04:22 AM
Mmakig a sms module with SIM and standard phone jack could be a good idea for people living in an area with out movile signal. Alittle expensive but it covers all the posibiletes.

;)

David

ReefRockerLive
02/12/2008, 07:39 PM
Any updates for the module? I'm thinking about getting one...

AQD_ottawa
02/12/2008, 07:59 PM
Yep
Being worked on this week, we are hoping for some firm pricing in the next two.

Still right on schedule for launch dont worry

chiefzod
03/24/2008, 07:27 PM
Any more news on this?

I know it has been said that this is quad band but will this work in Australia as we mostly use those 3G networks?

Matthias Gross
03/25/2008, 01:19 AM
"those 3G networks" - what is this?

I think quad band includes all existing GSM frequencies?

bmwaaron
03/25/2008, 06:13 PM
A "3G" network is a way the carrier transmits data and has nothing to do with the Sim module that is comming out.
Matthias is correct. Quad Band GSM is considered a world phone and should work in most first world countries.

AQD_ottawa
03/25/2008, 06:38 PM
Quad band will work anywhere in the world, with a few exceptions, the biggest one (unless it changed recently) is Japan

But for 99.9999% of users I doubt this is much of an issue

chiefzod
03/25/2008, 06:59 PM
Ok should be good then.

I just know that the Iphone doesn't work on most of our networks over here so wanted to make sure it wasn't like that.

Any more details on release date and price yet?

AQD_ottawa
03/25/2008, 07:46 PM
We were hoping for a realease of April, but due to the huge launch of other items I think a release at Interzoo is most likely.

price no idea as yet.

We will post dates and what launches are coming in the next two weeks as we have the biggest announcement yet this year coming VERY soon!

chiefzod
03/25/2008, 08:22 PM
Nice another big announcement. Can't wait.

AQD_ottawa
03/26/2008, 05:50 AM
If you are going to MAX there is a good chance you will see this new item demo'd (not the sms module).

We hope to let everyone know prior to MAX if all goes smoothly.

erikages
03/26/2008, 11:21 AM
I'll be going to MAX. Can't wait!

Erik

erikages
03/26/2008, 11:28 AM
I don't see you (Profilux / GHL) on the MAX floor plan. Which booth are you in?

AQD_ottawa
03/26/2008, 11:37 AM
We are not there in person.

Due to so many new product releases in May all attention has been put to InterZoo and then Macna.

If all goes to plan we will have a presence at MAX, in relation to a role out announcement we hope to make next week, but for now i can give no further details

boboxx
03/26/2008, 11:47 AM
what's MAX?

AQD_ottawa
03/26/2008, 12:59 PM
http://www.marineaquariumexpo.com/

As I said GHL will not have a stand but if all goes to plan with our forthcoming announcement we should have a presence.

Ken250
04/01/2008, 09:35 PM
Just ordered my ProfiLux! Is the big announcement coming this week?

AQD_ottawa
04/02/2008, 05:37 AM
we are waiting on just the prices now everything else is in place.

The release date will be around middle of May coinciding with InterZoo, we hope to also release the chiller at the same time.

mgers21
04/03/2008, 12:43 PM
I am definitly going to need one of these, one of the reasons i bought the profilux

AQD_ottawa
04/03/2008, 12:46 PM
We are working hard to get them here by May (yes this May 08) along with the new chiller that is going through bench testing as we speak.

And dont forget the important aqua illuminations tie up!

There will also be a further product announcement scheduled at present for June 08

One hell of a year to get into ProfiLux!

mgers21
04/03/2008, 12:56 PM
still no idea on pricing?

AQD_ottawa
04/03/2008, 01:28 PM
I was hoping to have it sooner, I am pressing for it I can assure you.

if I give an date for a price now I would fear this would not be met so would rather not get your hopes up.

All I can say is that it is immenant, within the month of April without doubt.