PDA

View Full Version : Just starting have 4 Fresh Water now buying a tank for Salt need some advice!

pgaschulz
01/27/2008, 04:38 PM
Okay I have been doing Fresh Water for 25 years now and my wife wants a salt tank. I am buying a 72 gallon bow All glasss. I have a sump which was on my 100 gallon I am going to use for the salt now. The 72 bow will have a built in overflow, I know I need a proten skimmer. I am also looking at a Aqualight Advanced Series HQI Metal Halide Fixture, for the tank. I want to start with a fish tank with some live rock. I am looking at 4-5 fish only. What else am I going to need and what else can i expect.

I have a 100,75,50,29 fresh right now, the 72 bow will be a nice additon. I am also looking at a Pro Heat heater, what about a Penguin 400 (did not really want anything hanging off the back though.....

pgaschulz

Sk8r
01/27/2008, 04:57 PM
I would recommend:
skimmer rated for 150 gallons.
with metal halides, you will be equipped to keep stony corals. They are no harder than fish---in fact since they don't jump or eat each other or get too many diseases, they behave better.
You need 1 lb live rock and 1lb CaribSea Aragonite sand per gallon.
I recommend laying down a sheet of eggcrate lighting grid, then a little good base rock, then your live rock, and finally your sand.
My advice would be, go with your lights, have NO filter, have 4-5 reasonable fish of the blenny/goby sort, and keep a few easy corals for starters: caulestra and hammer are easy ones. A 72 bow will keep blennies and gobies very handsomely and they will never outgrow your tank: a 72 bow has too little swimming room for many of the better-known marine fish---I know: I have a 54 bow. If you go the coral route, your rock, sand, and corals will be your filters, and you never have to clean anything.
My advice would be from the start to set up a small refugium in your sump: that way you will never have to scrape significant algae, either.