PDA

View Full Version : UV sterlizers?


Deuter
01/28/2008, 02:34 PM
I want a UV for my 65g, how many watts do I need and what is the best brand to use?

rustybucket145
01/28/2008, 02:36 PM
Why do you want to use a UV?

Deuter
01/28/2008, 02:44 PM
I lost 2 fish, if you don't use UV please don't post.

killagoby
01/28/2008, 02:52 PM
How did you lose the fish?

I've used UV on one of my FOWLR tanks in the past...

DrBegalke
01/28/2008, 03:01 PM
The wattage required is going to depend on what you want to kill.

Algae - less watts
Parasites - more watts

Assuming its parasites you want to control, I would go with at least an 18w model with a max flow rate of about 100 gph for a 65g.

I used a 36w model with a flow of about 150 gph on a 55 QT tank, worked well.

Don't trust the wattage/flow recommendations on websites, as those are geared towards killing algae.

I personally like the AquaMedic model:
http://www.aquacave.com/searchresult.aspx?CategoryID=260

Roy G. Biv
01/28/2008, 03:13 PM
I've used a few and I've come to like turbotwist. It can totally come apart for cleaning.

Deuter
01/28/2008, 03:33 PM
Thanks guys I was looking at the 25 watt life gaurd maybe aquamedic... or the gamma model my Current. I'm not sure how to install these UV systems, can you give me a rough idea the easiest way to install them?

adambaron
01/28/2008, 03:47 PM
I have the 40 w gamma on my 180 and it works well. Basically installation is just attaching it in line on your return. Its really pretty easy just some minor plumbing (make sure you have PVC cement and Teflon tape). The only thing difficult for me about the installation is that i have an under the tank sump and it is getting quite crowded down there.

Deuter
01/28/2008, 08:03 PM
anyone else?

blas
01/28/2008, 08:10 PM
I have a gamma and I built legs for it to get it up off the bottom of my cabinet. Mine is about 3ft long. I was real easy to install if you have a sump, I just plumbed it right into my return line. I also have to say with 3 tangs I have not seen a ich problem in 2 years. Also be careful with the sleeves I broke my first one, they break real easy.

greenbean36191
01/29/2008, 08:18 AM
UV sterilizers aren't a replacement for proper quarantine or disease treatment. Regardless of how many people swear by them, in controlled tests on recirculating systems they have repeatedly failed to reduce parasite densities, infection rates, or fish mortality. There is no reason to believe adding one will improve the odds for your fish vs. the same tank without a sterilizer.

bdif
01/29/2008, 08:44 AM
Here's how I plumbed mine. Underneath the table is a Rena canister that pushes about 175gph through it. It's a turbotwist 36w.

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg177/bdif12/240aq016.jpg

stumpy08
01/29/2008, 01:56 PM
I had a problem with green water a few years ago. It was so thick that you could not see through tha tank. My LFS suggested that I try a UV filter. I bought one and my water was crystal clear the very next day! I had been sufering through this for over 3 months. The one I used was the turbo twist.

rbursek
01/29/2008, 02:03 PM
bdif,
my kind of man, smokes and looks like a Captain and Coke!!!!!!!!! I do the Martini thing when I work on the tank!!!!!LOL
Bob