PDA

View Full Version : 6500K for fastest growing corals?

xenon
01/28/2008, 10:24 PM
I attended two seminars of Anthony Calfo and he said 6500K bulbs are best for "growing" corals.

What would be the most cost effective type of lighting when you take hydro, bulb cost etc.. into consideration

LED, T5 or MH ???

Gomer
01/28/2008, 11:20 PM
curious to this answer. Best growth for a dedicated grow out, who cares if it fluoresces, tank.

xenon
01/28/2008, 11:24 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11712253#post11712253 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Gomer
curious to this answer. Best growth for a dedicated grow out, who cares if it fluoresces, tank.

Exactly!

Grow the frags to a decent size with 6500K and then switch to 10k to bring out the color. :)

JCTewks
01/29/2008, 12:17 AM
I'm no expert by any means but,

I think that it all depends on the corals you are growing. Deepwater Acro's would probably not fare too well under the 6500K lighting....not necessarily from the spectrum, but more from the high PAR they put out. Corals that typically come from a shallow lagoon or tidal flat will prob do well. 6500K is the spectrum of the noon sunlight at the SURFACE of the ocean...once you get more than a few meters down most of the reds are gone and you are looking at a higher K spectrum...get far enough down and it's like a tank lit by all actinic and blue+ T5's.

xenon
01/29/2008, 12:20 AM
You may not be an expert but you make perfect sense.

It's so difficult to generalise lighting needs.

Kenzy
01/29/2008, 03:27 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11711791#post11711791 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by xenon
I attended two seminars of Anthony Calfo and he said 6500K bulbs are best for "growing" corals.