PDA

View Full Version : Question about replacing or reusing trickle filter media

kissmeplenty
02/01/2008, 07:10 AM
Hi everyone. Another newbie here with a startup question. :p This is my first post but I'm sure there will be many more. I am setting up a used tank and am not sure whether to re-use the existing filter material in the crv 1000 wet/dry trickle or to start fresh and replace it.
The tank is a 90 gallon glass that was previously used for saltwater fish and had live rock along with crushed coral for the substrate. It was running up until about a month ago.
So I am preparing to reset it up and I am not sure if I should reuse the media (a floss type I think) or if I should start fresh. I know the bacteria is important but after sitting around dry for a month I'm not sure if it's best to use it or to replace it. Also if I reuse it will I expose my tank to any issues the previous tank had? Hope this makes sense lol and thank you to all of you in advance for your advice.
Joanne

Sk8r
02/01/2008, 09:28 AM
Get rid of the substrate. Get rid of the material in the wet/dry and do not replace it.
Run diluted white vinegar in the whole system and wipe it down.

Reefs don't use filters at all. IMHO if you are going to use a filter [fish only tanks can but may not need to] you should get a cannister type or an easy-clean sort, because you have to clean it weekly, without fail.

Why filters are a problem: sand and rock contain bacteria that can break detritus down to nothing but nitrogen gas. Other elements, like amino acids, must be removed by a skimmer [another piece of equipment.] Filters stop detritus and never break it down: it lies there until removed. Worse, it generates nitrate: this is not good stuff. Corals hate it. Fish had rather not have it.
Read the * thread at the top of the forum for detailed information on setup. You will need live rock, aragonite sand, and ro/di water.

Aquarist007
02/01/2008, 09:56 AM
[welcome]

I agree with sk8r(when don't I)