PDA

View Full Version : AlgAE??


SteveNMegz
02/02/2008, 01:05 PM
Hey guys weve had our tanks up and runing for 2 months now and it started off with some hair algae but now the whole tank is covered in algae..Is this normal for a new tank????

(Pic a week ago)

http://i244.photobucket.com/albums/gg22/MegznSteve/002-3.jpg

(Now)

http://i244.photobucket.com/albums/gg22/MegznSteve/001-3.jpg


http://i244.photobucket.com/albums/gg22/MegznSteve/002-4.jpg

http://i244.photobucket.com/albums/gg22/MegznSteve/003-1.jpg


How long will it take for this to clear up? is there anything we can do to help it go away??

Dubbin1
02/02/2008, 01:09 PM
Just keep up on your water changes, use RO/DI water and in time it will go away. Looks like you're in for a long battle though.

SteveNMegz
02/02/2008, 01:33 PM
Like would scrubbing the rocks or trying to pick the alage off help at all????? or should we just leave it???

Dubbin1
02/02/2008, 02:08 PM
It will only help for a short time.

dudleystinks
02/02/2008, 02:47 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11747822#post11747822 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Dubbin1
Just keep up on your water changes, use RO/DI water and in time it will go away. Looks like you're in for a long battle though.

My old tank used to look like this. I did that for 5 years and it never went :rolleyes:

SteveNMegz
02/02/2008, 03:10 PM
So it wont go away???

pgaschulz
02/02/2008, 03:38 PM
Someone posted this for me, it sounds like it could work....

pga

the reason i put it in the sump was this: If i have hair algae growing in my tank and my sump, and I'm leaving the lights on 24/7 in my sump but only 12hrs on my display, then the algae in the bottom is getting 2x the lighting to carry on photosynthesis and grow...because of this, I would rather have it growin in my sump than in my tank...by competing with the algae in the dt but having 2x the lighting, the algae in the sump is going to win the battle and take all of the "nutrients" that it needs out of the water, therefore (in a sense) "starving" the algae that's in my dt. Believe it or not, it actually worked. I have a couple rocks in my sump that have a good colony of algae growin on it (along with a bunch of chaetomorphe algae for my copepods in the sump) that has seemed to eliminate the algae in the display. Hope this sheds some light (pun intended) on the situation. Good luck!

ljosh
02/02/2008, 03:50 PM
Manually removing as much as possible is best.

zma21
02/02/2008, 04:53 PM
Yep. I can't figure it out either. I'm using Ro/di with water reading 0 ppm, i manually remove hair algea everyday but its always there to greet me in the morning. This has been the course of the last 8 months.

I just sold off all of my fish. There will be no nutrients going into the water to feed the algea other than phytoplankton for the coral.

rjsilvers
02/02/2008, 05:03 PM
That's a big progression for a week..

What's your light cycle? Are you using RO/DI water?

SteveNMegz
02/02/2008, 10:10 PM
we're using RO water, our atinics are on 12Hours a day, and our 10k's are on 10 hours. The algae has shown an amazing growth spurt over the last week. we have 2 clownifsh, a few corals and multiple cleaners. We've introduces chaeto into the sump jsut recently, and after a week of running its light on for 14 hours a day, we're going to try and leave it on 24hours a day and see if it helps at all.....any ideas, are we screwed???

uscharalph
02/02/2008, 10:17 PM
It will help if you blow off your rocks with a turkey baster, right before you remove water for a water change. You can also gravel vac the very top of your sandbed. You don't want to go too deep on this vac as to really disturb the sandbed

demonsp
02/02/2008, 10:23 PM
Lower lighting time and increase that flow. Flow Flow Flow. Also increase you CUC. You need to start with a small basic variaty.Then wait a week or two then add a fish or coral wait and add more CUC and adjust to your needs then wait and add a fish or coral or both.
Also knowing your water readings with nitrate and phosphate high on the priority readings.

Your LR will convert ammonia and nitrate into harmless nitrogen and the LS will convert nitrate into nitrogen but with low flow the will only increase both. Also algea cant grow aswell with proper flow.
A fuge will help but not cure as this is only a tool we use for water quality control so solveing the problem is best and its not to bad so im sure you can take control.

I would do weekly 30% changes and right before change blow some of the rock and stir small areas of sand.Then whene you drain you will remove more debris.Also stirring small amounts of rock and sand daily would be fine but i would use a HOB filter with carbon filters.

Look here for great info and GL.

http://saltaquarium.about.com/od/startinganaquarium/tp/topmistakes.htm

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2007/1/aafeature/view

http://netclub.athiel.com/cyano/cyanos2.htm

magic028
02/02/2008, 11:00 PM
If the tank is only 2 months old it is still cycling and algae is a by -product of this. Keep doing water changes and try to suck out the algae when you do. The less light in the begining is a good thing.

zotzer
02/03/2008, 06:02 AM
You can cut back your lighting time to start. Try 10 hrs actinic and 8 hrs full daylight.

Also, be patient. This is a very young tank and normal. Trochus snails will make a big dent in turf algae, along with your new ball of chaeto. Once your hair algae diminishes, switch the fuge lighting to a reverse light cycle, but I'd leave it on 24x7 for now.

Patience, grasshopper! :)

Tracy