PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with my tank?

tobuff
02/11/2008, 06:02 AM
i have been setting up my tank for about 3 months now. when the ammonia, nitrate and nitrite is 0. i put the fishes in:
1 percular
1 yellow tang
3 purple firefish
1 skooter

The display tank is about 90g. The dimension is 40"x25"x25". The lighting is composed of 2 pure actinic and 1 250W MH. I also have Tunze 6100 wavemaker for the current in the tank. Chiller is also set up to keep temperature at 82F all the time. Skimmer is washed every couples of days.

after a while, i also bought the Xenia and star polyp. But, in just one night, Xenia's dead and star polyp is getting worse and worse. the fishes are fine and healthy, but the corals are not good at all.

I don't know what is wrong with the tank or water in it. my friends say it might be of copper present in the tank. But, i could not remember or figure how the hell copper happen to be in the tank. What is in my tank that cause the corals to die?. Or what is absent of my tank that cause it to die?

dhesq
02/11/2008, 06:05 AM
Have you tested for copper? That crap is amazing in how it leaches into everything....

I'd check that and turn the heat down to 78-80degrees.

tobuff
02/11/2008, 07:46 AM
Yup. I'm going to buy that testing kit soon. Hell, so many problems.!!!!
Anyone else have any opinions, just post them. Thanks a lot.

The_Browns
02/11/2008, 07:48 AM
82 degrees whoa, lets have a fish bake :). I keep my tank at 78 degrees always +- 1 degree.

tobuff
02/11/2008, 07:50 AM
Actually, it is 24-25celsius. I juat assume that it is 82F. So, may be it is 80F. Sorry about that

xraydoc
02/11/2008, 08:43 AM
25C would be 77F (F = (C x 1.8) + 32)

Chef Reef
02/11/2008, 09:36 AM
theres nothing wrong with his temp. i run mine at 80-83 with the same corals + more.

snulma1
02/11/2008, 11:26 AM
how did you acclimate your new additions?

tobuff
02/11/2008, 12:53 PM