PDA

View Full Version : Bored at work, maybe you guys can help..

X_not_again_x
02/12/2008, 01:26 PM
Well I just got a new job, sold my old tank, and now in about three months I'm wanting to start a large project. So I'm starting to plan now for all the things I need to buy! :) I'm making wayyyy more money than I was before so I'm wanting to go a little larger than what I had before.

I want to go with a RR 90 Gallon, preferably with a corner overflow with durso standpipes for noise control. All black, with a black stand and canopy.

Lighting: I'm pretty new to metal halides seeing I've only used it once, but I'm hoping to go with 2 250W 13k halides, and 2 PC actinics. I want to have a fan on each end of the canopy for cooling, do you think this will be sufficient? I'll have to look into ballasts because I have no clue what any of that is. The only halides I've ever used was a coralife tank mounted.

Circulation: I want to have at least 20X over, by koralia, or tunzes.

Sump: it will be a four chamber sump, I've already started making it, the first chamber is where the water will drain from tank, with a rock rubble chamber, then through the second chamber, pours into the fuge which contains a DSB and chaeto, that pours into the skimmer chamber then out to an external pump back to the tank.

Skimmer: coralife 125 in sump or hang out, mine will be in sump obviously.

LR: I want to do 60lbs of Live rock, and 90 lbs of base rock.

LS: I want to have a 3 inch deep sand bed, all live.

Well thats all i can think of for the tank so far, if you guys have any suggestions, it would be greatly appreciated. :)

live stock schedule:

month 1: Nothing but live rock and sand

month 2: Cleaner crew consisting of:
30 Blue leg hermits
15 nassarius snails
15 turbo snails
5 emerald crabs
2 cleaner shrimp

month three:
3 chromis
pair of clowns (undecided species)
1 bi color blenny

month four:
1 kleins butterfly
1 sixline wrasse
1 blue spotted jawfish

month five and beyond:

RBTA