PDA

View Full Version : Is my Toadstool sick? Or just grumpy?

santame
02/26/2008, 11:52 AM
Hello,

I have a leather toadstool coral that I have had for about one month now. He was doing really well for a long time, he has not opened his polyps in 8 days now and I am worried.

Below are a couple pictures. He has some white patches on his top and some greenish-brownish areas around his trunk that could be algae?

White patches:
http://robynblair.com/toad1.JPG

Algae or something else?:
http://robynblair.com/toad2.JPG

He never seems to get a break from my hermits and my snails. They are constantly crawling all over him. Could he just be upset or do you think it may be something more serious?

I am new to reef keeping and he is one of my very first corals. I also have a hammer and a torch.

Amomia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 4
PH: currently 8.05 (but I struggle daily to keep it up, but always falls below 8.0 in the AM.)

Calcium: 400

Not sure what else you may need to know. Any help/advice is appreciated. Thanks for your time.

Nykademus
02/26/2008, 12:13 PM
Your hermits wont hurt it, but it will retract all of its polyps because of them.

Did you have any changes in the tank? Temp, salinity, add a bunch of fish or anything?

What kind of lighting was it kept in previously? Might be sunburn if you have MH.

Leather corals are pretty resilient so it should bounce back as long as whatever caused it has been taken care of. They will shed too if its really upset about it.

The green looks like algae and there is some bubble algae there too it looks like. Are you using RO water? It wont hurt that coral though. For the bubble algae, you might think about getting an emerald crab or two to take care of it.

Your pH will fluctuate on a 24 hour cycle, its normal. Depending on where you are located it will go down in the winter due to the house being closed up because of the carbon dioxide levels inside.. on a minor scale, this is also why it will change during a normal day.