PDA

View Full Version : Sfiligoi or Giesemann?

charcharodon
02/27/2008, 03:09 PM
Which would you choose? Product quality and aesthetics are paramount. Price is irrelevant.

xenon
02/27/2008, 03:10 PM
Sfiligoi by far.

Their reflectors are huge compared to the Giesemann fixture!

mr294
02/27/2008, 03:28 PM
Reading Fliger's experience with his Sfiligoi and Sfiligoi customer service was enough to convince me not to buy one

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1101643&perpage=25&pagenumber=6

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1165619

saltysupply
02/27/2008, 03:53 PM
I have no experience with sfiligoi, but from my experience giesemann dosen't have good CS either which is why I am choosing not to carry them anymore. I would go with sfiligoi as Aquarium Obsessed should be able to take care of you with those.

gcarroll
02/27/2008, 04:09 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11958483#post11958483 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by charcharodon
Which would you choose? Product quality and aesthetics are paramount. Price is irrelevant. Price is the biggest difference between the 2. So if that is irrelevant I would say it's too close to call. Based on graphs that I have seen, the Giesemann has a more uniform light spread than the Sfiligoi (comparing the Giesemann Spectra vs the Sfiligoi Infinity XR6). The Sfiligoi has a lumenarc style reflector which looks to be a better design but just because the reflector looks like a lumenarc does not mean that it performs like one. I would not expect the greatest customer service in the US since neither company has reps in the US. I am sure that both fixtures have excellent performance #s.

gcarroll
02/27/2008, 04:10 PM

charcharodon
02/27/2008, 04:19 PM
Sfiligoi vs. Giesemann: 2 - 1 - 1.

That is always the issue with imported products, isn't it? No matter how exceptional their initial quality, they are essentially worthless without congruous customer support. Hmm.

gcarroll