PDA

View Full Version : copper/live rock question

HODGESDNE
03/10/2008, 12:29 PM
I have a damsell that is in a quarantine tank still and I am treating him with copper because he seemed to have some white spots when I brought him home.

My question is, I have some uncured rock that I would like to add to the quarantine tank. Will the copper hurt the rock as far as adding it to my main tank once cured ? I do plan to have corals and inverts.

jackets22
03/10/2008, 01:09 PM
From my understanding yes. It will leach copper. But I am not a expert but I would wait before adding to your tanks until you get a definative answer.

Aquarist007
03/10/2008, 01:14 PM
the live rock is toast if used with a copper medication--don't use it in the main tank.

kevin2000
03/10/2008, 01:29 PM
My 02

Don't use copper with live rock ... will kill any of the inverts on the live rock and the copper may also adhere to the live rock and later leach out into your show tank.

Don't ever use "uncured" live rock in a QT with fish (whether your using copper or not) .. uncured live rock will generate significant ammonia which will kill the fish.

Be prepared to do water changes in your QT to maintain zero ammonia.

If you ich infested fish was placed into your show tank .. that tanks now infected and you should consider leaving it without fish for about 5 weeks to kill of the ich in the show tank (ich need a fish to perpetuate life cycle)

Good luck.

Aquarist007
03/10/2008, 01:33 PM
agree with kevin

hyposalinity works the best for ich . Here is an article on that method.
You can leave live rock in you hyposalinate. the bacteria will die off somewhat but will recyle--you just have to allow more time for them to do that before increasing the bioload in your main tank

http://www.petsforum.com/personal/trevor-jones/hyposalinity.html

jayiiiptk
03/10/2008, 02:26 PM