PDA

View Full Version : sump build

eran
03/11/2008, 09:03 PM
I have never had a fish only system before and want some ideas on how to set up a sump with bio balls. I don't have funds to do fowlr so I guess bio balls with a skimmer is the way to go? I guess my main question is how to set up a sump with bio balls and how many do I need for a 125gal tank. Maybe some pics would be a plus. Thanks:eek1:

Otogi
03/12/2008, 07:33 AM
there are many different brands out there that make Wet/dry (bio-balls) sump filters. I used one of these on my FOWLR at first

http://www.livingcolor.com/wet_dry_filters.cfm

but I recently changed it out for a Livingcolor fuge/sump set up. I am still new to the hobby myself, and by no means any kind of expert, So what I say here is only what I have have gathered through months of reading the Forums here on RC. I would suggest that even if your funds are limited don't skimp on the LR. You can buy a bunch of base rock (not live) for really cheap and then buy a few pieces of LR and let it seed the base rock overtime making it live, and saving you lots of money. You can also do this with your sand, get some sand you like and get a cup or two of established sand from a fellow reefer and seed your LS. From everything I have read LR may not be one of those absolutely must have things but it does do wonders and greatly helps in the filtration process.