PDA

View Full Version : Return pump to much water

santis
03/17/2008, 04:55 PM
Hi I'm my name is Santiago and I am very new to this, but with all your posts and help I'm learning. Well i am doing water test with regular tap water, from my tank to my sump, checking on simulated power failures etc.
One problem I have encountered is that my return pump sends the water up from the sump, faster than the water from the tank goes down to the sump, therfore my display tends to overfill.
I have a mag 7 as areturn pump. And a overflow box.
Can someone tell me how to fix this. how to make my pump send less water?
Thanks

BLKTANG
03/17/2008, 05:05 PM
put a ball valve in the return line,& turn it down a hair.

cdbias2
03/17/2008, 05:08 PM
Or you can add a larger return box.
Or you can run two return boxes.

tmz
03/17/2008, 05:14 PM
Restricting the flow may wear on the pump.

Plumb in a tee with one open line going to your display. Put a ball valve on the other line and run it back to the sump. By adjusting the ball vavle you control the amount of water that goes to the sump and in so doing control how much goes to the display . This technique allows your pump to run without restriction and gives you very good control on the amount of water flowing to your display.

AZDesertRat
03/17/2008, 06:03 PM
No No No.
Returning the flow to the sump is the most inefficient thing you can do. Centrifugal pumps only consume the power necessary to do the work that is required of them. Restricting the flow going to the display is the correct way since it reduces total flow and does not hurt the pump in any way shape or form period.
Take a look at a test I did recently. You can see as the head goes up due to restricting the flow, the power consumption and GPH go down. It actually makes some pumps work more efficiently and not the reverse.

Here is an example using a Eheim 1260 that I tested awhile back.