PDA

View Full Version : Anyone using Allen Bradley products?


SSpiro
03/24/2008, 12:58 PM
Can't search right now, but curious if anyone is doing any automation with Allen Bradley PLC's and components?

I work for an AB distributor, so I can get some decent costs. Wouldn't mind trying to build something for myself, but curious if anyone else has tackled with AB PLC's..

SSpiro
06/13/2008, 07:10 AM
No one?

Lutefisk
06/13/2008, 09:35 AM
I've used an old SLC-150 to handle somethings. Obviously, they work great.

I've often thought about what I could do with some of the big PLC-5 systems I used to work with.

SSpiro
06/13/2008, 09:42 AM
How hard was it to configure?

I was thinking about a micrologix..

Lutefisk
06/13/2008, 10:23 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=12738325#post12738325 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by SSpiro
How hard was it to configure?

I was thinking about a micrologix..

It's not difficult if you understand ladder logic.

Being an "old-school" controller you need the handheld programmer to program as well as to examine the state of any inputs or outputs.

The good news is that having a small PLC you've got access to a bunch of timers, inputs, and outputs and can perform more complicated operations than dedicated aquarium controllers.


Paul

SSpiro
06/13/2008, 10:30 AM
Interesting. I'll have to do some more digging into this.

BLehman
08/03/2008, 07:20 PM
Has anyone used Opto-22 as a controller option? It seems to "
potentially" be a cheaper PLC option. I used it many years ago to do some manufacturing automation. Worked very well and uses a flow logic than is simple. I guess it all depends on a budget.

miwoodar
09/09/2008, 12:48 PM
Hey SSpiro - did you go through with the PLC idea?

mdenismd
10/06/2008, 04:01 PM
I have a MicroLogix 1000 that I was going to use (for Dosing) but I think the Stamp2 will work and have one of those laying around also. Cant beat AB though. Don't have software, thats the draw back of AB.... $$$$$
Has anyone used any of the new microprocessors??

Squiddy
11/14/2008, 07:29 PM
I program Allen Bradley PLCs at work every day from PLC 5's to SLC500's to the new MicroLogix and ControlLogix. When my tank was set up I was using a modicon shoebox PLC as my controller which worked fine. 16DI, 16DO and 12 or so Analog Ins. Worked great.

SSpiro
11/15/2008, 08:22 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=13320155#post13320155 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by miwoodar
Hey SSpiro - did you go through with the PLC idea?

Not yet, but would still like to.

Squiddy - What PLC would you recommend from AB's product sets?

Squiddy
11/16/2008, 08:48 AM
From Allen Bradley I would get a micrologix 1000 probably although they don't have too many analog ins. 4 I believe. I'm using a Modicon Micro shoebox PLC and it has 10 or 12 analog ins, 16 DIs and 16 DOs. Works great.

SSpiro
12/03/2008, 10:51 AM
Yeah, I waas looking at a ML 1100... 6 24vdc inputs, 4 fast 24vdc ins, 6 isolated outs.. and then a PanelView component 600 color..

Pricey though :(

Alaska_Phil
03/24/2009, 05:49 PM
I believe the latest version of RSLogic allows you to program in Visual Basic as well as Ladder or function block. I just took a semester class on PLC's and I'm thinking of using a Pico myself.

Phil

SSpiro
03/26/2009, 07:26 PM
VB? Nice!

Squiddy
03/26/2009, 10:48 PM
Yes that would be quite expensive! The other option you could look at is the DirectLogic line from Automation Direct (http://web3.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/Programmable_Controllers/DirectLogic_Series_PLCs_(Micro_to_Small,_Brick_-a-_Modular)). I know it's not Allen Bradley but we use them for some applications and they are quite cheap!

eBay is also good for PLC stuff.

Curtie44
01/04/2010, 03:44 AM
I have dreams of automating all the equipment in my basement fish room. I already have the Control Logix processor, 7 slot chassis/w power supply, ethernet module, relay module, and 1756-if6i analog card (for Ph monitoring and control). I'm still looking for a reasonably priced 1756-ir6i RTD module to handle all the temperature controls. I have been having horrible luck locating any of the Panelview +'s that I want to use either (at an affordable price). Ideally I want to have a Panelview Plus 1000 in the basement fishroom for pump control, temp & Ph probe calibration and display, calcium reactor control and top off control. I'd like to set up some trend pages on it as well to display Ph + temp. I think that would be cool. I want to have a PanelView Plus 600 on the main floor in the tank stand for display of temp, Ph and control of powerheads and pumps. I already have a couple of the panelview screens created and started the plc logic as well. I already have my rtd temp sensors, my 4-20ma transmitter for the Ph probe and some other misc stuff. I just can't seem to source the panelviews or the RTD input module at a decent price, and that is putting a hold on the entire project! Bummer, every time I think I have a panelview on ebay that I might be able to get some industrial reseller snatches it up. quite frustrating to be so close.

Squiddy
01/04/2010, 09:03 AM
I have dreams of automating all the equipment in my basement fish room. I already have the Control Logix processor, 7 slot chassis/w power supply, ethernet module, relay module, and 1756-if6i analog card (for Ph monitoring and control). I'm still looking for a reasonably priced 1756-ir6i RTD module to handle all the temperature controls. I have been having horrible luck locating any of the Panelview +'s that I want to use either (at an affordable price). Ideally I want to have a Panelview Plus 1000 in the basement fishroom for pump control, temp & Ph probe calibration and display, calcium reactor control and top off control. I'd like to set up some trend pages on it as well to display Ph + temp. I think that would be cool. I want to have a PanelView Plus 600 on the main floor in the tank stand for display of temp, Ph and control of powerheads and pumps. I already have a couple of the panelview screens created and started the plc logic as well. I already have my rtd temp sensors, my 4-20ma transmitter for the Ph probe and some other misc stuff. I just can't seem to source the panelviews or the RTD input module at a decent price, and that is putting a hold on the entire project! Bummer, every time I think I have a panelview on ebay that I might be able to get some industrial reseller snatches it up. quite frustrating to be so close.

That's awesome! I use that Control Logix/Panelview Plus 1000 combo all the time at work for natural gas compressors and plants etc. Have you got the PLC set up and controlling anything yet? You should take some pictures!

We had to get rid of our 90 gallon when we moved but hopefully when we move again in a couple of years we will be closer to the fish stores and will be able to get something larger again so I can get my control set back up. I had a temp probe connected up to my home automation setup that texted me when the temp went too high or too low but it just died on me. I soldered it up and then covered it in that industrial heat shrink with the glue in it but the salt water still got in there somehow. Will have to think up something better for that I guess.

Curtie44
01/04/2010, 11:38 AM
No, nothing is wired to the plc yet. I have some of this and some of that but all of nothing...LOL. Everything really hinges on me being able to find an HMI. I really want a 2711P-T10C4D1, but I just can't find a good deal on one. I have even considered some of the EZ Automation or Automation Direct HMI's but those run almost as much as a used Panelview. I started the PLC programming, pretty much just lighting, pump and powerhead control. I also set up a few of the panelview screens already in Factory Talk View Studio. I might be able to post some screen shots of them once I get home. Nothing special...as a matter of fact the wavemaker screen is going to be Sh*t canned because I'm using the VorTech's now so there is really no need for it anymore.

joeparrish
01/05/2010, 09:51 AM
No, nothing is wired to the plc yet. I have some of this and some of that but all of nothing...LOL. Everything really hinges on me being able to find an HMI. I really want a 2711P-T10C4D1, but I just can't find a good deal on one. I have even considered some of the EZ Automation or Automation Direct HMI's but those run almost as much as a used Panelview. I started the PLC programming, pretty much just lighting, pump and powerhead control. I also set up a few of the panelview screens already in Factory Talk View Studio. I might be able to post some screen shots of them once I get home. Nothing special...as a matter of fact the wavemaker screen is going to be Sh*t canned because I'm using the VorTech's now so there is really no need for it anymore.

I have one sitting right here that I was going to use I went redlion instead

IF you still need the hmi let me know

it is a 2711-t6c8l1 by the way

Curtie44
01/05/2010, 10:24 AM
I have one sitting right here that I was going to use I went redlion instead

IF you still need the hmi let me know

it is a 2711-t6c8l1 by the way

I appreciate the offer but I'm looking for a panelview with the built-in ethernet communication. I believe that one is DH+. If that was a 2711P-T6C20D I'd be all over it!! Got any PanelView Plus's laying around?

joeparrish
01/05/2010, 10:44 AM
Sorry did not catch that part

And yes I think so let me look

Curtie44
01/06/2010, 08:05 PM
Here are some of the screens for the HMI that I had started a while back. They were designed with the PanelView Plus 600 in mind (5.5" screen). Then I decided I wanted both the 600 and a PanelView Plus 1000 which has a much bigger screen (10.4" I believe). The plan is just to display the temp, pH and maybe the time on the 600. I would have a separate screen that would control all the pumps so I could shut them off to feed with out having to go down to the basement to unplug the Reeflo. I was also thinking I would have a page to control the photo period of the lighting. I would have the big 10" display in the basement fishroom. It would have all the same status info and control as the one up stairs with the addition of a trend page that would act as a chart recorder for temp and pH. There would also be calibration screens for the temperature and pH probes. Anyway, here is just the beginning.....

http://i628.photobucket.com/albums/uu8/curtie44/Aquarium%20controller/HMIscreenshots.jpg

http://i628.photobucket.com/albums/uu8/curtie44/Aquarium%20controller/MainScreen.jpg

Pressing the "on" button toggles between on and off and the text changes to off. The light corresponds with on (green) and off (red). Yes, I know the first one says on and the light is red but that is just the way I left the state when programming...

http://i628.photobucket.com/albums/uu8/curtie44/Aquarium%20controller/PumpScreen.jpg


The top number is the set time in seconds. The bottom number is the actual count-up in real time. You press the button "PH 1 on time" and a number pad pops up where you can set the time in seconds. The same is done for the "off" time. This sets the "preset" of a timer in the PLC which turns the powerheads on and off for the selected time.
http://i628.photobucket.com/albums/uu8/curtie44/Aquarium%20controller/WavemakerScreen.jpg

These were just the first screens. Now that I look at them again, they look pretty lame. I can do better than that, just remember this was for a 5.5" screen so real estate was pretty tight.

joeparrish
01/08/2010, 11:49 AM
Something else to think about doing is adding a button for FEEDING.

I have a Button I push when it is time to feed this is just momentry not latched.

It turn the latched bit tells the plc to shut down the skimmer and all pumps but not lighting doseing timers heaters ect. Just water movement.

I have this done on a timer to only stay off for like 2 mins

Nest I am trying to find a way to auto feed but not really sure of a goood way just yet becouse of the fact I feed frozen not dry food

joeparrish
01/08/2010, 11:50 AM
oh by the way the pv+ you where looking for I dont have but I could probaly get you a deal on a new one but you might look on ebay for used mabe

Curtie44
01/08/2010, 06:26 PM
That's a good idea on the Feed button. That was sort of the idea with the "All Pumps" on/off button on that one screen. The only drawback is you have to remember to turn it back on. I guess that's why you went with the timer.

It's almost impossible to get a PV+ off of ebay. I have been trying to get one off there for several months. Every time I find one that I might be able to afford, I get out bid at the last minute by someone with like 8000+ transactions with a screen name of IndustReseller or some crap like that. There are so many people out there just buying to resell it's not even funny. There was a PV+ 600 that was beat all to hell, scratches all over the display, dirty, just in terrible shape all together. I lost that one too. Oh well, hopefully I will find one eventually so I can realize this grand plan of mine:hmm5:

TellyFish
01/09/2010, 02:56 AM
Thanks for the details, I have been trying to sort through the literature on the PACs and this cleared up a number of questions. Seems like you found the module which would be most difficult to obtain and, unfortunately, its a pretty critical one.

Let us know if you get it working!

mojo~
03/26/2010, 11:08 PM
nice work guys. I always thought it would be cool to through a SLC or control logics on the ol tank. Maybe a couple of sercos cards for the drives running the massive skimmer pumps right ? the the panel view stuff you all are doing looks great too. Nice work. Now if I could just the Fanuc robot home and teach a path with the magnet cleaner I would be set. lol.
Nice work
Mojo~

Curtie44
04/09/2010, 09:13 PM
nice work guys. I always thought it would be cool to through a SLC or control logics on the ol tank. Maybe a couple of sercos cards for the drives running the massive skimmer pumps right ? the the panel view stuff you all are doing looks great too. Nice work. Now if I could just the Fanuc robot home and teach a path with the magnet cleaner I would be set. lol.
Nice work
Mojo~

HAHA...I used to work for Fanuc (great robots btw). Better yet, teach the robot to dump the skimmer cup!