PDA

View Full Version : Metal Halide use with Jr or III

Cycledude
03/25/2008, 07:57 AM
Hi,
I am a newbie to this site. I have been looking at several controllers that are on the market and trying to make an informed decision. I like the features offered by the AC jr and AC III. There is one question that I need answered though and hopefully someone will be able to provide that answer.
What happens when running metal halides on one of these controllers (AC jr or AC III) if the power goes off and then back on? Will the halides remain off until someone comes along to power them down so that they cool and the manually restart them after cooling or is there a mechanism where the power stays removed from the ballasts until the bulbs have had time to cool and then powered up again automatically?
Thank you for any info that can be provided.

Greg

bmwardo
03/25/2008, 08:24 AM
Hello Greg, welcome to RC and the Neptune Systems forum,

In your program code you can build in time that does not allow the MH bulbs to come on for whatever amount of time you specify... so 10-14 minutes for example is what I have set up.
But if you have ever turned off your MH bulbs and then almost immediately back on again you will notice that they don't actually "turn on" for several minutes so that they can cool properly, at least this is the case with every bulb configuration I have ever seen or dealt with.

However your question also can apply to a chiller... say you have a chiller going on and off constantly, you can use a Max Change command to allow it some cool down time before it gets fired back up again.

Here is an example of some code I use for 3 MH bulbs that takes care of what you are asking about:

If Power 000 Then LT1 OFF \\ power fail, bring lights up in sequence after bulbs cool down
Max Change 010 M Then LT1 ON
If Power 000 Then LT2 OFF
Max Change 012 M Then LT2 ON
If Power 000 Then LT3 OFF
Max Change 014 M Then LT3 ON

Hope that helps

Cycledude
03/25/2008, 08:49 AM