PDA

View Full Version : I am confused

loftyguy
03/25/2008, 11:01 AM
I have never had a reef tank.I am going to start one with my 90g tank that I have been keeping cichlids in for about 2 years. The tank is drilled and I am already using an 45g sump/refugium with bio balls. The tank came with an IceCap Model 660 Electronic VHO Ballast and I have to get new light for it. Most people say to get rid of the bio balls, and I think I will. I also have some ideas about how to do the baffles on the sump/refugium

My questions is what is the best Protein Skimmer to get. I have read that Octopus Reef Protein Skimmer OCT-NW-150 is good but I am not sure. When I google reviews they seem to be split and ever one has a diffrent take on the matter.... What would you guys say?

Mr James
03/25/2008, 11:10 AM
by loftyguy
....I am going to start one with my 90g tank .... using an 45g sump/refugium...

My questions is what is the best Protein Skimmer to get.

Be prepared to do a lot of reading and base your decision on multiple responses. There isn't one single answer. There are a lot of opinions.

THIS GUY (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1353300) asked what skimmer for under $300 and got some reponses. If you say "the best", are you prepared to pay for "the best"?? IMO, the best usually comes witha price tag. What is your budget??

What, besides the Octopus, has your research come up with??

loftyguy
03/25/2008, 11:29 AM
I have looked at a few models. I don't recall all the names of them. I a folder of links to all the ones I am looking at. I guess my main question are not so much on Models of skimmer but how they work.

co-current or counter-current?

air pump / airstone
venturi
downdraft
beckett

I wanted to stay in the $200.00 range

civicunrest
03/25/2008, 12:01 PM
To be 100% honest, of all the skimmers I've owned I liked my ASM G-3 skimmer the best. However, that's about $100 above the range you want to stay in.