PDA

View Full Version : camel shrimp removal

bugbdon
03/28/2008, 09:11 PM
does anyone know of a way to get camel shrimp out of my tank? i bought them from a lfs who said they were reef safe. i've learned other wise and i'd like to get the the H@*& out of my tank before i add any coral
thanks

jumpfreak26
03/28/2008, 09:20 PM
just an idea, i have no experience at all. try a mason jar with a small hole in the lid, big enough for him to get into. put some food in there. And wait. like a shrimp hunter in his coral stand. waiting for the opportune moment lol

bugbdon
03/28/2008, 10:41 PM
yeah i was thinking of something like that.....i hope it works

weimers75
03/29/2008, 08:28 AM
Are you sure its a camel shrimp? They look very similar to peppermint shrimp only camel shrimp have a more pronounced hump.

If its a peppermint, you're ok, it's reefsafe and may have been mislabeled by the fish store. If not, I'm sorry but I have no suggestions other than what jumpfreak offered. I too have a shrimp I'd like to catch and relocate - its a pistol shrimp that hasn't found my goby pair.

mikellini
03/29/2008, 12:42 PM
I had this exact same problem. I tried the jar method, I tried the putting food in the net method, I tried singing to it.... nothing worked. After it destroyed half of my zoos I drained half of the tank into a rubbermaid, removed the rocks and placed them in it, and then chased him around with a net. I'd say that was what I should have done in the first place, the rest was too frustrating. Especially the singing lol...

bugbdon
03/29/2008, 07:13 PM
i'm sure it's a camel shrimp. i think i'll just drain the tank tomorrow. thanks for saving me the frustration. that lfs is going to get an ear full from me next time i walk in. i told them the tank was going to be a reef and they said "everything i gave you today will be fine in a reef"....yeah right

snake plissken
03/29/2008, 10:51 PM