PDA

View Full Version : dosing question

john90009
04/13/2008, 04:23 PM
Im new to sps i have lps in my tank and i dose with a 2 part sollution. Now that i have halides on the tank i want to go clams and sps. I would like to know if it would be cheaper+ easier to control levels with just straight out adding kalk because i dont have an reactors. Any advise will help, i was wondering if anyone had sps tanks and dosing by them selfs without a reactor?

qfrisco
04/14/2008, 01:55 PM
I'm somewhat in the same boat. I do 2-part right now, and have researched the various calcium dosing options. From what I've read, the easiest thing to do, outside of dosing 2-part every day or so, is to just drip kalk. You don't need a reactor, pumps, etc.

Here's an article I found on an easy DYI kalk dripper: http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2004-06/nftt/index.php

This is what I'll probably switch to in the next few weeks.

tmz
04/14/2008, 02:30 PM
Dripping limewater(kalk/calcium hydroxide) is a very good way to supplement alkalinity and calcium. If you drip it at night it will have the added effect of minimizing the nightime ph drop since it takes up CO2. I use to drip mine with a 5 gallon bucket and some airline tubing and a vlave. It worked fine but for convenience, I have upgaded to a dosing pump from a still resevoir( a 32 gallon Brute garbage can.)

qfrisco
04/14/2008, 02:38 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=12327571#post12327571 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by tmz
Dripping limewater(kalk/calcium hydroxide) is a very good way to supplement alkalinity and calcium. If you drip it at night it will have the added effect of minimizing the nightime ph drop since it takes up CO2. I use to drip mine with a 5 gallon bucket and some airline tubing and a vlave. It worked fine but for convenience, I have upgaded to a dosing pump from a still resevoir( a 32 gallon Brute garbage can.)